1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Android sleuthing: Solving Forced Closes?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by droidzone, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. droidzone

    droidzone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    436
    58
    53
    Doc
    India
    Hi..One of the reasons that I rooted my HTC Desire with OTA Froyo, was that I thought I could solve the issue of Forced closes. But now, though I am rooted with Unrevoked and running the latest AuraxTsense, I am still getting Forced close messages. It doesnt have any specificity. Sometimes it might be when I swipe to a Sense window, sometimes when I end call, at others, it might just be on invoking the menu and navigating it.

    The forced closes I am referring to is "Android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly", not any specific application forced closes. I have fixed permissions with ROM Manager using Busybox, but they don't seem to help.

    I've heard of logcat logs. Am I on the right track in thinking that these are debug logs and may be used to track these errors. In that case, how do I go about tracking the problem, and solving it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    did you do any titanium restore of your old settings onto the new rom? If so its probably something there.
     
  3. droidzone

    droidzone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    436
    58
    53
    Doc
    India


    Yes I did. Recently changed to new version of aurax. Restored titanium after Rom flash. Had made sure not to restore any of HTC apks.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Take another titanium back up now, then factory reset run for a little while to see if FC still exists. If not, its a setting from Titanium. You may have to restore all and delete 1 by 1 to find out which.

    I had an odd one. Every time I went into settings>sound I got force close. Deleted wallpaper 2.2 settings from titanium back up and it worked fine.
     
    droidzone likes this.
  5. droidzone

    droidzone Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    436
    58
    53
    Doc
    India
    makes a lot of sense. Thanks. I'll try that out and see.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...