1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Android Smart TV Help

Discussion in 'Other Androids' started by philanimetv, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. philanimetv

    philanimetv Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013

    Jan 12, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Muntinlupa City
    I have this "Android Smart TV Box" from here CDR KING

    I was able to flash a firmware from eGreat and rooted the device. Everything was fine until the day comes when i installed an app it messed up my wifi and throws error everytime i turn wifi on.

    I tried uninstalling the apps to fix the problem, but factory reset did the trick. However, my problem is that i cannot root the device anymore. Im using gingerbreak and it is stucked and found out the superuser is still installed although i have made a factory reset. My bad that i didnt know i should have unrooted first from gingerbreak before factory reset, which means i cannot remove superuser without root access. Is there another way to re-root my device?

    I don't have a backup of my original stock firmware, but i still have a copy of the img file i used to update firmware, and also the latest official fw of egreat from their site.

    btw the box only has power and reset button, so i dont know how to boot to recovery mode... :(

    ***Update:
    Tried installing gingerbreak and at some point, installation proceeded without any problem :)
    i also found out what is the culprit for making my atv's wifi to malfunction, i figured out when i install droid vnc server and then i reboot my atv, it will mess up my wifi and the only way to fix is to factory reset the box. my bad that i deleted the system default keyboard so when i factory reset i dont have onscreen keyboard hahaha
     

    Advertisement

  2. SarsiG

    SarsiG Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    Male
    Netwrok Engr
    QC
    Hi!

    Thanks for your post. I have the same model.
    BTW, what does the new firmware give you?

    Regards,
    Cesar


    I was able to flash a firmware from eGreat and rooted the device. Everything was fine until the day comes when i installed an app it messed up my wifi and throws error everytime i turn wifi on.

    I tried uninstalling the apps to fix the problem, but factory reset did the trick. However, my problem is that i cannot root the device anymore. Im using gingerbreak and it is stucked and found out the superuser is still installed although i have made a factory reset. My bad that i didnt know i should have unrooted first from gingerbreak before factory reset, which means i cannot remove superuser without root access. Is there another way to re-root my device?

    I don't have a backup of my original stock firmware, but i still have a copy of the img file i used to update firmware, and also the latest official fw of egreat from their site.

    btw the box only has power and reset button, so i dont know how to boot to recovery mode... :(

    ***Update:
    Tried installing gingerbreak and at some point, installation proceeded without any problem :)
    i also found out what is the culprit for making my atv's wifi to malfunction, i figured out when i install droid vnc server and then i reboot my atv, it will mess up my wifi and the only way to fix is to factory reset the box. my bad that i deleted the system default keyboard so when i factory reset i dont have onscreen keyboard hahaha[/QUOTE]
     
    jbitpc likes this.
  3. cjx

    cjx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013

    Mar 19, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hi guys, I got a Chinese android network media box. It plays media well from my network storage. But my issue is that most of the language is in Chinese. I have change the system lang to English but still not completely ok. please how do I go about reinstalling a fresh android to wipe the one it came with originally.
    Thanks.
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    21,972
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    21,972
    11,492
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If you bought it on Ebay and it shipped from China, almost no chance. Many devices like this are intended for sale in China and not exported/imported by reputable importers and retailers. That's why they're on Ebay.

    To get it to fully support English, you'd have to get hold the original manufacturer's ROM that supports English. If it exists at all, and that's where the problem lies. Because the manufacturer is unknown.
     
    jbitpc likes this.
  5. jbitpc

    jbitpc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016

    Apr 16, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Can you help to bring my cdr king smart tv to higher android rom? At least 4.1 ?
     
  6. jbitpc

    jbitpc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016

    Apr 16, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    [/QUOTE]
    have you found the answer to this riddle? Can you help to install 4.1 rom? I need to upgrade badly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...