1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ANdroid studio HELP INSTALL

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by SPEEDEVS, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. SPEEDEVS

    SPEEDEVS Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018

    Dec 23, 2018
    281
    56
    73
    Male
    i have a DELL D620 core 2duo 2gb ram will android studio work because i am asking if i can upgrade the RAm to 6gb can dell d620 support 6gb RAM AND WILL IT WORK WITH ANDROID STUDIO
    IS MY QUESTIONS
    THANKS
     

    Advertisement

  2. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,527
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    MoodyBlues and SPEEDEVS like this.
  3. SPEEDEVS

    SPEEDEVS Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018

    Dec 23, 2018
    281
    56
    73
    Male
    ok because it has 1.67ghz processor speed just saying because i am learning from the site u gave me but of i use 4gb rsm and 320gb western digital
    to be specific wd3200bvet
    i hope it wont lags in RUNNING phone virtual machines
     
  4. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,136
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,136
    11,932
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    It's a fair point with regard to running the emulator. On Windows you might be struggling with 4GB. If you can bump it up to 6GB or more, that would be better.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  5. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,527
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Yeah it's definitely gonna be slow. A lot of the lag that you're gonna feel will be because of the hard drive which is only 5400rpm. That's a very slow hard drive.

    If it was an SSD even with low ram your system would still be snappy because swapping on an ssd is fast unlike an hdd. (I think windows calls it page instead of swap)

    If you have any old phones lying around try to use them instead of the emulator. I've been keeping my phones throughout the years and now I don't use the emulator anymore.

    The bottom line is that your gonna have to deal with a slow system unless you can upgrade both the ram and get an ssd. For now install android studio and see if it's tolerable for you until you get your ram.
     
    SPEEDEVS likes this.
  6. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,136
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,136
    11,932
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    I recommend switching to a less resource hungry operating system (a Linux distro), if the OP wants to stick with this machine for Android development.

    P.S. I just realised there's 2GB RAM. That's going to run dead slow with Windows. That small amount of RAM is going to need a pretty lean Linux distro too.
    Bottom line is, forget using that system for running Windows O/S, and that's before you start trying to do anything heavy like running Android Studio.
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  7. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    3,874
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    3,874
    2,215
    453
    Formerly UNIX/Linux programmer/sysadmin, now disab
    /home/LosAngeles
    I believe I've suggested using Linux to the OP before, since he is, after all, creating Linux (Android) apps. You know, go to the source of what you're creating.

    But now, knowing the specs he's dealing with, I just have to jump up and wave: listen to @LV426! A lightweight Linux distro would get that machine flying, AND let him learn the OS that started it all. There'd be no Android without Linux.
     
    LV426 and GameTheory like this.
  8. SPEEDEVS

    SPEEDEVS Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018

    Dec 23, 2018
    281
    56
    73
    Male
    TRUE i can use my phone to be doing the test
     
  9. SPEEDEVS

    SPEEDEVS Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018

    Dec 23, 2018
    281
    56
    73
    Male
    yes 5400rpm is pretty laggy and SSD with low ram with Lag unless use emulators and my android phone js 4.4.2 so it wont do it resonable carry outs
     
    GameTheory likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...