1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Android system killing battery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ventada, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15
    I have lost about 50 percent battery.life.in an hout and a half and my Android system is taking up 95 percent of. my battery. I am using setcpu and also playing words with friends. Anyone have any solutions as to.why my battery is being killed so fast. My phone is also rooted
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,475
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,893
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,893
    17,848
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    have you tried any kernels yet. every kernel will react differently from phone to phone. so my recommendation is to try a bunch of them and see which one suits you.
    here is a guide and explanations on kernels:
    [GUIDE]
     
  4. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Don't mess with other kernels yet. Based on what you've said, you have a bigger problem. How did you verify that Android System is using that much battery? Did you use spare parts to see if it's holding wake locks?
     
  5. archercc

    archercc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    432
    68
    53
    What PRI/NV are you on? What ROM?

    On myns i noticed on my old phone that android system was killing the battery with the new PRI/NV, rolled those back and it was fine.
     
  6. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15
    I am on stock everything I think I used the rooting guide for dummies and got unrevoked3.
     
  7. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    852
    273
    113
    Are you using 3g or wifi for your data connection? If you have poor 3g signal that can drain your battery pretty quickly. Try using if u can.
     
  8. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15
    Ok I will try that I think it might be the weak signal because I always have no more than like 2 bars.
     
  9. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Go to menu->settings->about phone->battery level->battery use->cell standby. What is the % for your time without signal? If that is high, that's a problem. If it's not high, then it's something else.

    EDIT: Okay, it's *probably* something else. Weak signal is still a problem, but it's not *that* bad if you still stay connected, at least.
     
  10. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15
    It is 32 %
     
  11. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Yeah, that's pretty bad. Has your battery life always been that bad?
     
  12. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15
    Correction my phone has been on for four hours and my time without signal is 93%...
     
  13. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Has your battery life always been bad? If you're seriously never getting a good signal, your phone is going to be constantly searching, and wasting the battery like crazy. Do you get a better signal elsewhere?
     
  14. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15
    Ya I have gotten better signals elsewhere but the two primary locations where I am at the most (school and home) have terrible signals. Always 1 or 2 bars.
     
  15. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    You can try roam control to force your phone to roam, and not spend so much time searching for a signal. It should save you some battery life, but watch how much data you use when you do that.
     
  16. Ventada

    Ventada Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    88
    0
    15

    I have got an unlimited data plan so I dont think it matters how much i use. how do you down control?
     
  17. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    This is roam control. Even though you have an unlimited data plan, you probably still have a limit of how much data you can use while roaming.
     
  18. archercc

    archercc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    432
    68
    53
    300mb, sprint can/will either charge or discontinue your service if you go crazy over.
     
    akazabam likes this.
  19. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Thanks :). I figured somebody would actually go look it up.
     
  20. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    852
    273
    113

    Yup, had this happen to me. Where I used to live I had really poor signal and was always roaming. Sprint sent me a notification that if I continued to go over my roaming data allotment then they were going to discontinue my service.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...