1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android System using 72-75% Battery? Galaxy S

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by ibcpirate, Jan 7, 2012.

1. ibcpirate

ibcpirate Newbie
    None

Jan 7, 2012
    Hello all,

This is my first time being on these forums, so sorry if this is in the wrong place. I recently got my first Android phone 3 weeks ago, which was the Samsung Replenish, but that quickly fell in the toilet 2 weeks later lol. So last week I got a Samsung Galaxy S Epic 4g by Sprint. The Replenish's battery was supposedly horrible but the Galaxy S is complete crap compared to it. While on AIRPLANE mode, the phone will go from 100% battery to 35% battery within a school day(8 hours). I checked the battery usage and it is currently:

3d 11h 48m 33s on battery
    Android System - 72%
    Cell standby - 10%
    Phone idle - 8%
    Wi-Fi - 8%
    Display - 3%

This phone is driving me crazy...I can't even have my phone alive by dinner time :(. My brightness is on 9% and my screen autosleeps on 30 seconds. I don't really know much about Androids since I recently got my first Android phones. The phone is on 2.3.5 Gingerbread if that helps. Thanks in advanced for any information I can get!

-iBcPirate

Advertisement

2. Laramie8x8

Laramie8x8 Newbie
    None

Dec 27, 2011
    Something in that usage is not right at all.

I wonder if a hard reset might help? In airplane mode if you're not using it much the phone should last a few days.

If a factory reset doesn't work I'd just call customer service and try to get a new phone.

EarlyMon likes this.
  3. ibcpirate

ibcpirate Newbie
    None

Jan 7, 2012
    I don't know if it was like this before. When I got the phone, I was pretty busy that day but my older brother knows quite a bit about Androids so he said he would root it for me. While rooting it, someone was apparently trolling and gave a Galaxy S2 root and said it was Galaxy S, so he did a full reset and left it at that.