1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android Tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Old Member, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I noticed today that whenever I do a scan of open wifi networks with my laptop, it always finds "Wireless Tether" broadcasting even if I don't have that app open and running. What is causing that? I've gone into the System App and I can't find it running anywhere, but it's always running. Any one else having this issue or know of a fix for it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    It's an AdHoc network, it will always be there unless you remove it from your networks.
     
    Old Member likes this.
  3. Terabethia

    Terabethia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,071
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1,071
    311
    163
    Northern Virginia
    This. The computer is simply remembering a known network that it has used. If you actually try to connect to it without having the app running on your phone, it won't connect.

    It's similar to how your phone saves network locations. If you open your wireless settings, you will see all the networks you have used before. I just went and cleaned mine out yesterday, there were probably twenty ID's in there, some of which I will never be at again.

    Don't worry, your phone isn't constantly running a hotspot.
     
    Old Member likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...