1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android Tv Box Flexiview FV-1

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by awanone, May 19, 2011.

  1. Warpedflash

    Warpedflash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    nope not yet I have it as I want it and unless the update fixes the Ethernet issue then I have no need to update it.

    I doubt they will do a huge amount of the things we actually ask for anyway as its not really in their interest to spend more time developing the thing.

    Regarding the SD tool I cant get it working at all on windows 7. anyone managed to use it? I assume it just places the .osk file where it needs to be? if it extracts the .osk out to a file structure someone please .zip/.rar it up so we can have a look.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sohil786

    sohil786 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    no dear just an osk file, i think when u burn on sdcard it should extract on sdcard.

    sohil
     
  3. sohil786

    sohil786 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    updating have fixed Ethernet problem for me at least.

    SDtool : it worked for me under xp and after couple of attempts and have restored my box.

    i have no idea about osk file.

    sohil
     
  4. deanfarnaby

    deanfarnaby Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    On question 1. I was reffering to the actually output of the device.

    I have since found out that it is 1024 x 600 and is hardware upscaled to 1080p (This I can live with, could potentially be the cause of video lagg. Player is decoding on the fly, the GPU is upscaling at the same time. Is video player is substandard this could be the issue with lag)

    You answer covers the rest of my question there. So many thanks.

    Also thanks for the video up. I think when I get mine I will uninstall all the media players and just use Dice Player. Does it have a menu system and a library like the other players or do you need to use file explorer to locate file and then play like in video?

    Many Thanks

    Deano
     
  5. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    Well i just tried to do it , sdtool works fine on Xp , in windows 7 i think try running in compatibility mode with administrator permissions , anyway it did write something on the sd card and now i cannot see anything on it all i get this card is not formatted would you like to format it , at first i though well linux extensions are not visible so i tried to use explorer2fs still the same issue so whatever SDtool writes on the card at least i am not able to see any ideas any software ??????????? i am bit rusty it has been ages since i was in IT industry :(
     
  6. deanfarnaby

    deanfarnaby Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    32
    2
    16

    I think some reading is in order for me :)

    So essentially, If we can get the structure as it unpacks on SD. We can start customising?

    I'm not going to dive in with both feet, but I'm sure somebody will
     
  7. Sonic-NKT

    Sonic-NKT Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    29
    9
    16
    When we got more information we should start some kind of wiki or info post about this unit.
    With FAQ, Recovery Methods, Rooting etc... i would like to help, when i got mine.
     
  8. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    that's is the exact issue it seems like for High Definition videos only dice player is the only one capable to keep up with the hardware acceleration/optimization rest lag behind.
    Dice player simply scans your player and SD card and give you explorer type display so you can simply click your way to the required file to play no playlists etc that i can see.

    I wont be that quick uninstalling rockplayer as if you are like me collection different type of files dice player has its limitation for example it wont play flv extension and rock player will so you still need to keep it for those occasions when you need to play those formats
     
  9. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    I would not get my hope up in regards to get hands on structured files on SD card to me it seems like some sort of batch process to simply copy the andriod.osk to the /data folder to start the upgrade process for mass upgrading or inoperable boxes.
     
  10. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    i Have about 1 or 2 months to kill before i get extermly busy , why not i am all in
     
  11. deanfarnaby

    deanfarnaby Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    Good call on Rock Player - it is a pretty good player.

    Used to use it to play AVI's but as the files were only small (Episodes of Teesside Tin Tin mainly lol) I converted them all to MP4 and I just play them through the gallery.

    Ill be ordering mine at the weekend, I'll be rooting, and upgrading to the ROM posted above. Also will be highly anticipating news of this new update from the OEM.

    -Dean
     
  12. Warpedflash

    Warpedflash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    I might update it then. Any change log or anything?
    I know the Market on this is not legit and a good old Chinese hack so does the update show any more in the market?

    I couldn't get it running on 7 at all tried all the normal tricks.
    Try a live cd? explore2fs is normally pretty neat but you never know :)



    We can already customise it (we have root we can edit anything on it) just not in a nice way or not in a way that allows us to share those customisations. Normally this is done with custom update.zip files from a recovery menu. As this has NO recovery menu we need to see what method is being used to update things and basically de construct it to use it ourselves.


    Root can be done with z4root (just make sure you let the app open the development menu for you and turn on debugging from there)
     
  13. deanfarnaby

    deanfarnaby Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    32
    2
    16
    Re: The Market.

    Has anybody tried to install the official market APK?

    I've never used an android device apart from a phone, and the market has been the same on all these devices. So I'm not sure what this Chinese Hack market is - I presume it's a 3rd party version of the official market app. Not sure why they would do this.

    I'm sure somebody can clarify. I would like the official market , obviously we can just search for the installers manually. For me that kind of defys the point.
     
  14. sohil786

    sohil786 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    guys have u tried root explorer i have been able to see their system file but i m no good at this, i have rooted box with z4root installed superuser and installed rootexplorer and been able to delete their default apps if u want me to see particularly pl let me know i have some more time before i go out.

    sohil
     
  15. drellam

    drellam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011

    Jun 23, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    hi guys and girls

    i have just purchased my android tv box flexview

    i live in the uk and i use a site on my pc called my p2p.eu towatch live sport
    i have loaded the page on my flexview but it wont play any of the streams
    most of the streams are via veetle so is it possable to download veetle or is there an alternative site i can use to stream sports

    thanks dave
     
  16. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    did just that downloaded a Linux live cd and tried to have a look see well here is the print screen shot of the info on sd card, the file system is called squashfs , there are tools to unsquash the squashfs but they are beyond my experience any exe to do the job easily i really am not into the mood of going into cmd line after 7 years of absence :mad:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    Try the solution provided in the link below that might help u getting the stream running , do let us know if it works out for future reference

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-incredible/156175-veetle-player-android-incredible.html

    cheers
     
  18. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    Hi.
    Could you, please, create some standard (iso) image out of this SD-card?
     
  19. Warpedflash

    Warpedflash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    Give these a go if you feel up to it. Otherwise an iso or cc of the sd card would be appreciated.
    fragilematter: Squashfs Tools 4.0 Windows Binaries

    http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBgQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.slax.org%2Fforum.php%3Faction%3Dview%26parentID%3D28069&rct=j&q=extract%20squashfs%20windows&ei=K0AETpCBKJDGswbCgKWrDA&usg=AFQjCNHV7HuaS63UjxiPugLUimTbD_iYWw&sig2=DkDsIey91w_Ich96rKKwPQ&cad=rja

    Bit of squashfs info if you want it SquashFS HOWTO

    I will see if I can dig up an old XP machine from somewhere and get the SD tool working as well.
     
  20. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    only if you can tell me how to as in nero and magic iso when i click on Sd card it says "disk not formatted would you like to format it". which tool on ubntu live cd i can use to do the same, sorry to come across like a newbie but it really has been ages since i did this ..........
     
  21. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    I'm not really sure... According to your screenshot, you can try this in ubuntu:
    dd if=/dev/loop0 of=image.iso

    You should propably cd to some rw directory (some external hdd or another flash drive) to be able to write image on livecd OS.
     
  22. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    i did try to use unsquashfs.exe cmd line utility gave me error no permission to access the file :D

    [​IMG]
     
  23. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
    Ok Image made now uploading 700mb size when done will post the download link
     
  24. awanone

    awanone Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    62
    8
    16
    Singapore
  25. deanfarnaby

    deanfarnaby Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    32
    2
    16

    Padon my ignorace. I have an incredible S so have never looked into all this stuff before. (Not rootable). Now we have the iso does this mean we can build custom ROMs?

    (By We I mean everybody but me :) )
     

Share This Page

Loading...