1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

android tv has lan connection but app requires wifi

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by sirpy, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. sirpy

    sirpy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have a lan cable connection, but many apps requires wifi specificly.
    Is there a way to by pass it? make the app think there is wifi?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,150
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,150
    4,824
    1,108
    Male
    Depends on what app you are talking about. Apps do not really require WiFi specifically, for example, I never use a WiFi connection ever since I have an unlimited data plan. Unless its one of those WLAN data transfer or instruction type apps, like remote controls and such, since those don't send information via internet but via WLAN.
     
  3. sirpy

    sirpy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    apps like tvmobli,skifta won't start without a wifi connection. it gives and option to either retry to connect and quit.
    It's an android set top box, so no 3G. these apps requires usually either a 3G or Wifi connection, but I guess do not consider cable lan connection. so the question remains, is there a way to simulate wifi using cable lan or something like that?
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    I've a WiFi access point connected to my LAN home network :)

    So, I can connect my phone to the TV which is LAN connected.

    Harry
     

Share This Page

Loading...