1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android vanilla vs Modded Versions

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by xraptorx, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. xraptorx

    xraptorx Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    Hello guys
    I will be getting an android in the next few week. I was actually thinking of going with the Sony Xperia X3 once it comes out. I saw on the forums here that it is heavily modded from standard OS. I guess that is the same with the HTC Hero and the Motorola Motionblur android phones.

    But what does that mean exactly? Does a modded OS from the maufacturer mean I cannot run all apps or that only certain apps run on that fone? Does it mean I cannot update the OS without going to the manufacturers website (we all know that HTC does not update all thier older phones with the newest versions of software).

    I guess I want to know the pros and cons of the Xperia, Hero or any modded OS before buying the phone :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. transic

    transic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    You can run all Android applications on a modified version. It is still the same base but the UI is modified.
     
  3. cdstour

    cdstour Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    Sep 10, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Does a modified version of Android have the built-in Google sync (i.e. Calendar, push Gmail)?
     
  4. kasperknop

    kasperknop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    83
    1
    16
    My Hero could sinc with everything from google yes =) - the calender is just a new look for the gmail calender and you can choose to either use HTC mail widget with your google account or just the standard gmail app - both come with the phone.

    I just sold it though.. getting a Droid and have one question as well... The Hero (with the sense UI) has the possiblility to scroll to the side giving more homescreens (7 in total). Does the android OS have this feature as well or are you left with only one screen which means no room for widgets?XD
     
  5. Matenrou

    Matenrou Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009

    Apr 6, 2009
    49
    5
    16
    Sweden
    Android "vanilla" has 3 homescreens.
     
  6. kasperknop

    kasperknop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    83
    1
    16
    Thanks =) That's ok I guess =) used all 7 on my hero but that was just to fill it all out inserting full screen widgets that might as well have been shortcuts.. thinking about it 3 is a good number, and it will always be at least just as fast to get to anything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...