1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Android "World" Phones

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by SEMIJim, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    Hi There,

    I may soon be contemplating moving to Verizon. I think what I'd want is a RAZR MAXX. The VZ pages say both the RAZR and RAZR MAXX are "global ready," and come with a SIM card.

    So, say I'm going on a short (1-2 weeks) trip to western Europe, does that mean I have options? E.g.: I can retain my own number while there by paying for roaming on VZ' partners' networks or buy a pre-paid SIM card to save money?

    Thanks,
    Jim
     

    Advertisement

  2. xTye

    xTye Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    155
    11
    38
    Vancouver, WA
    If you can, just get a prepaid phone or sim to use in the MAXX. Roaming charges for out of country are pretty expensive.

    Ranges from .99 a minute to $5.99 a minute...
     
  3. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    Thus my question: If I had a MAXX or regular RAZR, could I put whatever SIM card I wanted in it, outside of VZ' native US coverage area?

    Reason I'm thinking of leaving Sprint for VZ after over 13 years is that Sprint currently has no Android "world" phones at all. But if I cannot actually use the phone as I desire, then it doesn't matter, and I might as well stay where I am.

    $0.99/minute is "tolerable," IMO. $6/min. is ridiculous.

    Jim
     
  4. Cares

    Cares Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    315
    38
    63
    The Rezound is world phone capable as well. FYI.
     
  5. badrsj

    badrsj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    203
    12
    38
    The GSM standard as run by AT&T is more world compatible. If you get one of AT&T 4G devices and get it unlocked it'll be good for domestic and foreign usage without compromising 4G performance in USA.
    Though there's claims of Verizon world phones to my understanding that's Verizon hoping you'd roam abroad which is definitely more expensive than using a local provider Sim on a GSM network abroad.
    As you're leaving Sprint should not be difficult to go to AT&T and not Verizon.
     
  6. badrsj

    badrsj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    203
    12
    38
    Not to mention Verizon 4G sucks battery far heavier than AT&T. I've had both services so can say for sure :)
     
  7. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    Yeah, actually, it would be. You see: I absolutely, positively, unreservedly detest the thing that calls itself "AT&T" these days with all my heart and soul.

    Jim
     
  8. badrsj

    badrsj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    203
    12
    38
    I'm sorry I wasn't aware of your feelings to AT&T. I hope you find your Verizon phone. Are you looking to roam on other carriers or switch a Sim when abroad?
     
  9. badrsj

    badrsj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    203
    12
    38
    Btw the thing that calls itself AT&T was Cingular, I also do not like them, but in a small pond one had to make a choice. I went with Verizon.
     
  10. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    No worries. No way for you to know. Just wanting to have the option of using a pre-paid SIM when in Europe.

    Jim
     
    badrsj likes this.
  11. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    My RAZR did not work on my recent (two weeks ago) trip to Italy and France. It was supposed to, I called Verizon personally and they said it would, had them put me on a temporary international setup - nothing. Don't know if it was my phone, sim, or what, but zero signal.
     
  12. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    283
    58
    73
    Thanks for the feedback, folks. Between one thing and another: I've decided to stick with a "dumb" phone on my current carrier, for now.

    Jim
     

Share This Page

Loading...