1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Androind GPS in Costa Rica

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by orendothan, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. orendothan

    orendothan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all,
    New to this forum so I hope i'm posting in the right place. I'm traveling to costa rica soon and would rather save the expense of renting a navigation system. Can I use the android navigation while in costa rica.

    I have a tmobile my touch 4G, I would like to disable data roaming and use GPS only so I dont et charged for data roaming. Is the navigation still going to work?

    Get a paper map?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,558
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,558
    28,612
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You most likely would have to purchase a GPS nav app that includes maps of Costa Rica, especially if you intend to turn off data. The GPS receiver shouldn't have a problem getting a lock on the satellites, but Google maps requires a data connection since it doesn't store the maps on your phone. As far as which app to look at, sorry, can't help with that.
     
  3. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,883
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,883
    3,483
    923
    yes.. you will have to purchase a stand alone GPS application.

    dont forget you need to get the map of the correct country.

    copilot is good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...