1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Annoying drop downs in this site

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box & Feedback' started by Hawker, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,095
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    4,095
    1,911
    433
    Male
    UK
    How annoying are these automatic drop downs that go along the top of the page of this site now. (ie. Home, Carriers, Phones, etc..)

    Muchly annoyance. Preferred it the way it used to be.
    :banghead:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Logan47

    Logan47 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    306
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    306
    75
    73
    Geocache
    Very much so, they descend on every occasion my mouse brushes past them. First visit of the day they always catch me out. I could block them with noscript but it also disables some other useful functionality from the site.
    Mobile browse happily no problems...
     
  3. Calvo1

    Calvo1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    275
    78
    53
    Liverpool, UK
    A+1 for this....really annoying. Love the site though
     
  4. vosg

    vosg Android Expert
    Rank:
     #134
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,234
    359
    203
    Male
    Software Developer (retired)
    Antwerp, BE
    +1, it's terrible indeed.
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,878
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,878
    9,199
    1,413
    UK
    +1 Hopefully we'll get a delay between mousing over and them opening added, like the old navy bars used to.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Still no movement on this?

    It's getting annoying.
     
  7. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,015
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,015
    20,352
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I've passed this along with the rest of the template feedback, I'll ask if they've had a chance to look at it. I'd like a delay, too.
     
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Agree they're annoying. Now the links are broken. Is work being done on them? (or is it possible my AdBlock is killing them)
    [​IMG]
     
  9. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    All of the links appear to be broken for me as well.

    I've been wanting to post this for a while, but have just decided to deal with it. But after seeing all of the links are dead I realize there is no point to this at all. Please add a delay or enable us to disable them if we so decide.
     
  10. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,015
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,015
    20,352
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    What links are broken?? They are all working for me. I had found broken ones after the first time it was mentioned and those all got fixed - but not seeing any now.

    Which?
     
  11. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    I just cleared my cache to be sure. So far I've found the Asus Transformer Prime and Asus Padfone (both under tablets) to be broken.
     
  12. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Links are now working. Don't know if it was temporary or what.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Any update on the drop-down speed issue?
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  14. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,015
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,015
    20,352
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I've asked about it a couple times, told to hold off as the dev is on a project. Remind me after a little time.

    Thanks!
     
  15. SamXp

    SamXp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    This is awful. I hardly come to this site any more because of it. Each time I open a page, it drops down all the menus.
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I use tapatalk more often now.
     
  17. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    Not an option on my notebook.
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Unless it runs windows then you can install the bluestacks platform that will run tapatalk (yes I have ;) )

    However, quite right if it runs Linux
     
  19. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,015
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,015
    20,352
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    Asking for a delay..
     
    NightAngel79 and MacFett like this.
  20. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    I don't know if anything was changed, but it seems there is now a delay on the dropdown going away instead of appearing. When I accidentally mouse over it it doesn't always go away when I move the mouse away from it. It will go up and then drop right back down and stay making it impossible to get to the navigation bar (user cp and others) as well as the reply button and depending on the dropdown it also covers the first post.
     
  21. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,878
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,878
    9,199
    1,413
    UK
    It still appears/disppears instantly for me on chrome and firefox. I'm not sure what's going on there.
     
  22. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Same for me.
     
  23. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,015
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,015
    20,352
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I asked for a delay and he misunderstood and slowed the effect of the drop down and draw up, but not a delay on when it starts.

    So I had him revert it, and he should put the delay in effect in the morning. :)

    It will be minimal. Very minimal. Basically, I've said it needs only be long enough to allow the mouse to naturally pass over without triggering it, but no more.
     
    bberryhill0 likes this.
  24. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    I thought something was fishy.

    Can't wait.

    Would it be possible for there to be something in the User CP where you can specify the delay? Where it is set to start at .75seconds or something and you can increase it to 3600seconds?
     
  25. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,509
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,509
    7,945
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky

    So is it just me or is it still popping up instantly?
     

Share This Page

Loading...