1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Annoying Phandroid pop-up

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box & Feedback' started by shmn, May 21, 2011.

  1. shmn

    shmn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    532
    271
    113
    Marine Diesel Mech
    WA State
    Lately, when surfing these forums on my EVO, a pop-up comes up and asks if I want to download the Phandroid app. I downloaded but much prefer to use the browser and traditional web site. But that pop-up comes up whenever I return to the Android forums. How can I get rid of that pop-up? I still have the Phandroid app installed...I just don't use it. I hit "Cancel" but it's getting old.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Moved to Site Suggetion/Feedback so that the Admin can see it.

    I agree that it's annoying though. Perhaps it's something where it only shows up when you aren't logged in or on the first visit of a certain period of time or ....
     
  3. Rob

    Rob I'm tellin' mommy on you!
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    563
    Posts:
    2,128
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008

    Mar 26, 2008
    2,128
    3,521
    563
    Androiding
    Hey shmn - thanks for the feedback. The dialogue box SHOULD set a cookie and only show once every 30 days. Is your browser set to accept cookies? If not, that's the reason. If so, I'm not sure what the problem is. Can you check into the cookies or any other details you may think of and report back?

    Thanks!
     
  4. shmn

    shmn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    532
    271
    113
    Marine Diesel Mech
    WA State
    I'm using a stock EVO with stock browser. Accepting cookies is on. This morning I got that dialogue box twice so far on four page loads on these forums. I am automatically logged in when I come to the forums. Should I clear my cookies and cache? Thanks for the help.
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Rob - I can confirm that this pops up each time the browser is pointed to af AND when the browser has been fully closed (backing out, task killer or reboot).
     
  6. Rob

    Rob I'm tellin' mommy on you!
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    563
    Posts:
    2,128
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008

    Mar 26, 2008
    2,128
    3,521
    563
    Androiding
    Thanks for the info. Our developer will be in shortly. I'll have him look at this and report back when we think it's fixed. Then hopefully you can confirm.

    I think letting people know is a valuable thing (about the app), but this is just obnoxiously annoying. In your opinion though, what would be the optimal middleground? Is once every 30 days okay? Or more than that?
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    IMO, 30 days is very fair.

    I usually use the app for day to day browsing but there are times when I prefer the browser (polls, reporting posts, moderator controls, etc).
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  8. shmn

    shmn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    532
    271
    113
    Marine Diesel Mech
    WA State
    30 days sounds good. But if you ever hit "ok" on the dialogue and download the app, it should stop asking...is that possible to do?
     
    woop, NightAngel79 and Kelmar like this.
  9. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,565
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,565
    8,077
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Good Point!!
     
  10. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    +2
    I think this is definitely fair. If a member already has the Phandroid app on his/her phone, there's no point asking them to download it (again and again).
     
  11. TVictory

    TVictory Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    160
    256
    88
    I have made some changes to the algorithm used to determine when to show phandroid app suggestion popup. It is live on the sites now, you should not see the popup more than every 30 days (or until cookies are cleared).

    If this algorithm works out and we don't get any major bug reports, i can add some logic to deal when someone clicks on [OK].
     
  12. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I've used the app for so long that I didn't think to use the browser and go to the site to do those things since there's no tools yet in the app. Thanks
     
  13. gcobb

    gcobb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    425
    23
    58
    Southaven, MS
    It's funny how whenever there's an ad that blows someone's browser out of proportion that the developers need to be contacted. Does Internet Brands run this site too?

    And threads I haven't responded in or read in months show updated. When I look, I got updated because there is an AD. Go figure.

    If I wanted to go to Phandroid, I wouldn't have put in this URL.
     
  14. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,061
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,061
    20,487
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I think there's some confusion here. THIS pop-up being referenced has to do with our Phandroid App, letting users know we have one. The code and algorithm used for this is developed in house - so yes tweaking it requires our developer.

    The actual ads, which includes a recent one that had broke browsers - are controlled by our ad network and the only way those can be fixed/changed are when Rob gets on the phone with them. He is on the phone with them a lot.

    As for the threads showing updated. I do not believe that to be because of ads, but because recently I set the time limit VB uses to automatically mark threads as read from 10 to 45 days (if I remember correctly).

    Internet Brands has nothing to do with us and other than owning VB - never will.

    As for the last sentence - I don't understand.

    I appreciate your feedback but if you're going to come guns-a-blazin' at least read the thread and be consistent with the conversation.

    Thanks.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  15. TVictory

    TVictory Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    160
    256
    88
    It seems even with the change the Popup Everytime it still effecting the EVO, I haven't seen mention of any other device having the problem.

    I don't have access to an EVO and I have not been able to replicate the issue myself.

    I am going to turn off the popup now.
     
  16. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,061
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,061
    20,487
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    I think the Nexus was mentioned on that +1 post..
     
  17. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Still happening on my Epic as well but not every time (seems random).
     
  18. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I saw it happening on my Atrix yesterday. Not sure when was the last time I had the popup since I mostly use the app on my phone.
     
  19. shmn

    shmn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #149
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    532
    271
    113
    Marine Diesel Mech
    WA State
    I haven't seen the pop-up since TVictory made the changes. Thanks for the prompt service!
     
  20. Timanator

    Timanator Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    107
    9
    36
    I have seen the popup twice in the past 2 weeks. And I have been logged in the whole time.
     
  21. Timanator

    Timanator Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    107
    9
    36
    Just got it again after clicking back while reading a thread.
     
  22. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    What mobile device are you using?
     
  23. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Just now, I was getting the popup on every single thread or forum category I click on. Fortunately, my firefox noscript has kicked in to save the day.

    This is on my pc
     
  24. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    I think you're referring to a different pop up than the one being referenced in this thread. Yours would be an actual ad which is something you would need to contact Phases about so that he can talk to Rob. The one in this thread is the actual Phandroid App pop-up I believe.
     
  25. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Yeah, it was actually an ad. It's stopped now anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...