1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Annoying unlock problem, please help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PAULQ84, May 30, 2011.

  1. PAULQ84

    PAULQ84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi There,

    I'm from the UK and have a HTC Desire HD phone. Its on 3 and I called up 3 to get the phone unlocked. They charged me around $30 and 7 days later I called them back to get the code (which they said they had to get from HTC)

    I entered the code and it said it was now unlocked and the code worked. Now I have tried to put several sim card in the mobile and they wont work? Every sim that goes in the phone it says "Limited Service" and when i go into wireless and networks it says it has no mobile network (in grey) and it wont let me unclick. When i go into mobile networks I pick the "operator" and it still doesnt work it comes up "your sim does not allow a connection to this network" It wont let me select automatically either it says "unable to connect to this network at this time"

    So basically I've paid 3 $30 to get my phone unlocked and looks like they havent done it right. It wont accept any sim card apart from the original 3 sim. And i cant get another unlock code becuase when i put in another sim it no longer asks for an unlock code.

    Is there any way i.e. settings that i can go to so i can add an O2 sim card into the phone and it'll work?

    Reason I'm here is because 3 are baffled and they did say i could send the phone away for repair BUT i wont get it back for 14 days and i would rather not send the phone away as i've got photo's, contacts, sms etc that i dont want any random person viewing. I also cant find anyone else on the web with this problem? Sounds pretty strange eh?

    Can anyone help?

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. PAULQ84

    PAULQ84 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Just to let you all know that I tried to put the O2 sim card into the phone and it still doesnt work.............now I've tried to put the ORIGINAL sim back into the phone and it now doesnt work either! it says "limited calls, emergency calls only" the same as the other sim cards so now NO SIM CARD works in the phone?
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    OP, not directed at you(rather anyone who's reading this), but don't you need to create a goldcard to properly network unlock the DHD?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,011
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,011
    9,657
    1,433
    UK
    As far as I'm aware, the firmware has no effect on whether the phone is locked or not. Are you thinking of the fact that you can unlock the phone whilst getting S-Off?

    PAULQ84, it does sound like sending it back may be a good idea. Is the handset new or is it one you've been using for a while and know works?
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,110
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,110
    24,087
    3,118
    Scotland
    Aye, that could potentially be where I'm getting that from.
     

Share This Page

Loading...