1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Another APN question

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by guy48065, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. guy48065

    guy48065 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014

    Jan 12, 2014
    80
    5
    16
    I sometimes see recommendations for 2 sets of APN's but with only 1 active button isn't the other set ignored?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,920
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,920
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    What device are you asking about. Phone? There are about 700 different models at the moment. All different. All with some similarities.

    ... Thom
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    There are usually two APNs configured on a device; one for "default" routing (internet, supl) and the other for MMS. Occasionally a provider will use a single gateway server for all services and only require a single APN.

    As you correctly state, only one can be active at any time. Depending on the data type in use the device should automatically switch between them as required.
     
    Crashdamage and funkylogik like this.
  4. guy48065

    guy48065 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014

    Jan 12, 2014
    80
    5
    16
    So for testing purposes I can't just add new APNs--the phone (GS3) may switch to another set and confuse my results?
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    You can try, but multiple APNs for the same provider with the same data type(s) is a recipe for disaster. Far better is to test settings by altering the APN already on the phone, and keeping paper notes of the various settings used.
     
    Crashdamage likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...