1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root another newb with questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lostang, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. lostang

    lostang Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    ok few months back i rooted my evo using the how to thread in the all things root section.....Now i'm looking to do upates so i can run my first rom.

    my current software info
    peep link for image
    http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/5301/img1267aa.jpg

    i've downloaded SPRINT LOVERS and it looks like it needs to go in the root of my sd card and then have to power on phone into bootloader, the phone will then scan for a PC36IMG.zip but not sure what i do next.

    can someone help me out with step by step?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    OK first what recovery are you running? I'm going to assume it's clockwork 2.6? you can check by going into hboot and going into recovery. it should say at the very top what you have.

    The sprint lovers has all the radios you would need so all you do is download the ROM put it on your sd card, then boot into recovery, and flash the file from your zipdrive. before you flash you will need to wipe davlik and cache
     
  3. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    406
    120
    88
    If you still have a PC36IMG.zip on your SD then back it up to your computer and take it off your SD, Bootloader will look for it and and wont find it, then it will give you 4 options that you can select by using your volume up and down to scroll and power to select. choose recovery. After your in the recovery wipe data, dalvik and cache, then flash from zip and chosse your sprint lovers ROM, flash it and reboot.:)
     
  4. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I you rooted a while back, you will likely need to update your recovery. Before you flash a rom, lets start there so we can make sure your Wimax(4g) keys are safe. The current recovery would be either Clockwork Mod 2.6.0.1 or Amon RA 2.3. Amon is the preferred one for most of us, but both will save your wimax keys.
     
  5. lostang

    lostang Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    its clockwork 2.5 and i ran the PC36IMG.zip file and i did not see any changes.. I wiped cache and one more file (forgot name) and then went on to load koni elite rom. I restarted phone and rom seems to be working fine...only thing is that i lost all my contacts. i know i saved them, how would i go about loading them back on?
     
  6. cyaiphone

    cyaiphone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    562
    28
    68
    the pc36img.zip file is not flashed. Once you put that on your sd card the phone should recognize it and ask if you want to update then hit yes. If when you went into recovery and you weren't asked for an update, the phone didn't recognize it. Go into the file on your sd card and make sure it's not named PC36IMG.zip.zip if it is delete .zip so you're left with only PC36IMG.zip. now when you go into recovery your phone will recognize it.
     
  7. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Actually Cya is close to right. You need to boot to hboot and it will scan for that file. If it finds it, it will ask if you want to update it. select yes and it will flash that file.
     
  8. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    You can also do it through terminal emulator.... I'm just saying cause it sounds like he is confused... will guess I just made it worse.. i'll shut up
     
  9. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    +1 emulator ftw
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...