1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Another shame of SGS2 ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kayne5, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    Hey. I really don't know a lot about 2g and 3g technologies and maybe my problem is operator related, cause I couldn't have opportunity to check other one.

    I've been experiencing strange 1 sec connection drops while conversation during voice call. It's like I have a pause for 1 second and during this moment I can't hear anything till the conversation gets back. No total call drop etc.

    So after making some experiments, I realized that it's due switching from 3g to 2g during a phone call, for example, when I start a call my phone is on 3g (whatever - H or 3g symbol) , sometimes it is sticking to this mode and my call quality is perfect, but once it switches to 2g mode during a call, right at this switch my phone seems to lose a signal for 1 second and then gets back. After that the phone is being stuck to 2g and call quality is fine.

    It's extremely annoying sometimes, especially when I have to ask the person on the other end to repeat what he said during that break.

    So your comments ? What could it be ? Is it due to operator or my galaxy s2 is faulty ? Or maybe it's just normal ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. skimminstones

    skimminstones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    335
    52
    53
    dont know what the issue is but its certainly not normal.

    More a "shame" of your sgs2, not the sgs2 in general
     
  3. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    My guess is it could be due to coverage. Usually when I'm outside the building , I never experiencing this problem. Could it be signal tower issue and not phone problem ?
     
  4. chile7236

    chile7236 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    21
    2
    36
    no issues here
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    If it's switching from 3G to 2G in one particular place, it's due to a poor 3G signal in that location.
     
  6. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    Actually my old nokia e71 is acting the same, but that pause is a bit shorter, but still persists.

    I don't know, why it's so here, for example I can start call on 3g while sitting on chair, then later during the conversation go 2-3 meters further and sit down somewhere else, i got this F***** pause for one second and I know that now I'm on 2g.

    You think it's not hardware ?
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,624
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,624
    5,837
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    I think you've answered your own question there, if your Nokia E71 is behaving similarly, you are obviously in a very marginal 3G coverage area which is prone to fluctuation. Hence the pauses whilst it switches from 3G to 2G.

    So not a GSGII problem at all and certainly not a "Another Shame" as you call it. :D
     
  8. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    I dunno really.. My nokia have this issue not on every 3g-2g switch and not so "visible" as my GSG2. Ok, Let's assume that it's coverage problem, but the phone should manage the signal anyway in the best manner and this signal pause sometimes keeps me from hearing 1-2 words which other person says so it's annoying. It would be hard to prove this problem in service center, cause probably there gonna be a stable 3g connection so no switch will appear. I start assuming the hardware fault.

    By the way, when it switches to 2g, it loses dataconnection and keeps being in this mode till the end of conversation .

    Who can roll this out for me ? Please.
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The failure to restore 3G after loss of signal is a bug in some firmware versions, apparently. It's been confirmed as fixed in the KJ2 release.
     
    ironass likes this.
  10. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    I'm not rooted, so I have to wait for 2.3.5 official update. Hmm, your described problem is not my issue =)), but thx anyway.
     
  11. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    ive been told by my ISP the network changing over is a cause for most DROP OUTS...at least your holding the connection when it changes bar a slight pause.
    I leave my setting on GSM only due to when i live, otherwise it will keep swapping and dropping calls (on the edge of where 3g finishes so to speak)....using the wifi for connection speed over the 3g anyway at home.
    My last 2 phones didnt have options to change, hence not really any dropouts.
    putting the problem onto my ISP for their ability to supply the connections and how handled them. Their answer was irrelevant to what phone i had as it happened to many on different phones.
     
    kayne5 likes this.
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Your description,
    sounds as if it is, though?
     
    kayne5 likes this.
  13. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    That's probably could be something close to my issue, thanx )) !

    Slug, 3g and dataconnection are different things, or I'm wrong ? I respect you, for sure, I could be wrong, cause I'm new to Android.
     
  14. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,938
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,938
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    I would agree with this, and the obvious solution would be to switch the network mode to GSM only before making a call. Menu > Settings > Wireless & Networks > Mobile networks > Network mode > GSM only.

    "Any cut" or "Switch pro widget" apps from the Market could both be used to place a quick widget/icon to change the setting on a home screen.
     
  15. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,938
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,938
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    2G networks do not allow devices to transit voice and data at the same time, so when your phone switches to 2G during a phone call you are unable to use the data network at the same time. This also works in reverse - if you are actively downloading data using a 2G network and a phone call comes in, you won't get the opportunity to answer it.

    3G/4G networks have no such limitation, and you can talk and consume data at the same time.
     
    kayne5 likes this.
  16. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    Thanx ! Now it's clear about 2g.

    But it's really annoying always switching the modes, it's not what I paid money for .

    Hmm, but still I don't get, why that pause always persists on the network switch ? Actually it should be handled by android not to let any failure happen on 2g-3g change, so I'm worrying about hardware issue - 3d antenna or smth. What's your thoughts on that, guys ?
     
  17. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,938
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,938
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    This isn't really Android's fault.. no phone will completely seamlessly switch between networks. It only takes a fraction of a second to connect to a network, but this is long enough for you to notice an interruption in your conversation.

    If signal isn't great it can take slightly longer to connect.

    What is up for debate is whether your phone is failing to maintain a decent signal when it should be able to - if other devices have a good 3G signal on the same network in your area, THAT could indicate a problem with your phone.
     
    kayne5 likes this.
  18. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    My Nokia e71 also switches to 2g network after being on 3g before call in my area, but it's hard to compare those both phones, SGS2 has HSDPA + UMTS but nokia got only UMTS, so probably it also can have impact.

    As I mentioned before, Nokia e71 also has this little interruption, but shorter than galaxy s2, sometimes even almost unnoticeable. And my 3g seems to have good reception in decent areas like city center on both phones. The only problem - I hate that switching and little dropout in connection on SGS2 :D
     
  19. kayne5

    kayne5 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    63
    0
    15
    Today I checked it with HTC, the same operator. HTC 3g signal turned to 2g approximately in the same time as my SGS2, but that pause was really short, I mean almost unnoticeable while the interruption on call with my SGS2 is 1 second and maybe more. I hope it's firmware and waiting for 2.3.5, but also it could be hardware fault.
     

Share This Page

Loading...