1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support another stock keyboard question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jeffruby, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    How can you make it so that when I choose a word from the suggestion line it auto spaces for me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    638
    70
    78
    Marketing Analyst/Web Developer/Social Media Analy
    Philadelphia
    I thought it would be in the keyboard/language section under settings but after checking it isnt. But at the same time, I remember it doing it automatically...

    Have you tried the X keyboard? The non vibration takes a few days to get used to but I can type so much faster on it.
     
  3. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    My stock does NOT auto space after I choose a suggested word. Yeah, I tried Droid x. I don't care about vibrate. I turn It off on stock anyway. But, the x keyboard has huge issues. Autocorrect only works sometimes. Try typing tomorow spelled with one r.
     
  4. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    Other issue with Droid x is that you can't edit user dictionary.
     
  5. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    638
    70
    78
    Marketing Analyst/Web Developer/Social Media Analy
    Philadelphia
    Yes you can. Head to the Language/Keyboard area of the Settings menu. You need to enable the other keyboard first, then edit your dictionary then enable the X keyboard again.
     
  6. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    As much as id like this to work, the user dictionary is only in the stock keyboard
     
  7. gadgetmom88

    gadgetmom88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    202
    11
    38
    Statistician/Nerd
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Check out Smart Keyboard Pro. Awesome replacement keyboard with tons of options - including an option to autospace after accepting suggested words. And another to swap space with punctuation after accepting suggested word followed by period/question mark/comma.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...