1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Another unlocked device activation question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cybercruiser, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio

    Advertisement

  2. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    I suppose that could be another advantage to going to Best Buy, they can be sure you're activated before you leave the store. (I think).
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Moto advertised that it would be unlocked for use on all major carriers. It's possible that some of the smaller carriers (like DTC Wireless or something) may have a problem... but Verizon of all things should work. Even if - catastrophically - it doesn't work on Verizon, you can send it back to Moto within 14 days for a full refund.
     
  4. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,919
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    It's the same phone no matter where you buy it. There is only one version/model and it will work on any network.

    That's not to say Verizon is really on board with actually activating any of them. They have a wonderful track record of not recognizing/being able to activate phones that aren't 'theirs'. Hopefully there will be no issues. mmm-hmmm.
     
    RA_BH likes this.
  5. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I bought Alicia the Note 4 Developer Edition straight from Samsung. Popped my SIM in it and it was recognized on the Verizon network within seconds. I do not foresee any issues here :)
     
    RA_BH and Clementine_3 like this.
  6. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    Should have it in my hands by 11:15am, Thursday, assuming my local BB gets them in on release day!!!
     
    Clementine_3 likes this.
  7. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,919
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    I had a Nexus 6 that came straight from Google for a whole day so take this all with a grain of salt. I put my SIM in and it did show up but as a non-Verizon phone. It worked, not saying that, but I read a bunch of posts on the big web about how people were not getting their no-contract line discounts due to that. I can't say I had any trouble for my one day but was not surprised to see that there were issues being reported. It's Verizon after all.

    I really don't think there will be any trouble with the T-shirt plans, it's a flat per line fee and a standard plan. And I sure hope there won't be any trouble with any other plans. Curious to see how it all goes though.

    Chief, did you get the Verizon edition? It's the total non-Verizon imei/meid numbers they have trouble with, the system doesn't recognize or like them I guess. It took them a while to update the info for the Moto and Google numbers.
     
    RA_BH likes this.
  8. BenjaminH

    BenjaminH Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    58
    29
    23
    It's sounding more like the possible September 3rd launch will be delayed to mid September fwiw.
     
  9. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    Where are you seeing potential delay to after the 3rd?
     
  10. BenjaminH

    BenjaminH Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    58
    29
    23
    A poster on android central who has been spot on with info ahead of time. Hopefully he's wrong this time.
     
    cybercruiser likes this.
  11. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    My son works for Best Buy, I asked him to check their computer, he says it doesn't have a in stock date yet.
     
  12. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    :( I hope we can at least order it and customize the phone on the 3rd. It'll take a week or more to reach us...
     
  13. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
  14. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    I'll be trying it out on Verizon on Friday
     
  15. Suzi_Derkins

    Suzi_Derkins Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015

    Sep 11, 2015
    60
    28
    33
    Verizon does not recognize my device... Says it's not supported.
     
  16. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I'm holding out hope that this drama is an anomaly. I ordered my Note 4 Developer Edition straight from Samsung. Popped my SIM in and went right on their network. Let's hope the wrinkles get ironed out of this little SNAFU quickly.
     
    RA_BH likes this.
  17. Suzi_Derkins

    Suzi_Derkins Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015

    Sep 11, 2015
    60
    28
    33
    Were you able to get your phone activated? I am still out of the water and loosing patience.
     
    RA_BH likes this.
  18. dodald

    dodald Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    18
    4
    16
    I activated my Moto X Pure this morning. (Actually just moved the Sim from my Moto X (2013) ) haven't had any issues yet.

    edit: I'm on Verizon, and I was able to move the sim to my new phone... But I tried to re-add my Moto X (2013) as a new line, and it took the guy at the store 2 hours to get everything working because the Verizon system did not recognize the Moto X Pure. He ended up having to move my original sim back to the Moto X(2013), then adding a line and activating it on the Moto X (2013) (both lines on the old, 2013), then shuffling the sims back to the right places.

    tl;dr: the Moto X Pure can't be used to activate a NEW line, but you should be able to move a sim from an activated phone.
     
    #18 dodald, Sep 16, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
    RA_BH and The_Chief like this.
  19. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    Yes, but, I was already on Verizon with a HTC-ONE-M8, so, I just moved the SIM over and I was good to go....
     
    RA_BH and The_Chief like this.
  20. MuppetZoo

    MuppetZoo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015

    Sep 20, 2015
    3
    3
    16
    Male
    I lost my old phone (2013 MotoX) and ordered a Pure Edition. When I went to the Verizon store I had to ask for a new microSIM. Popped it in and activated it right away. I had been warned before going in that the IMEI range might not be in Verizon's database to activate for these phones, but that is definitely not the case.

    I waited longer in line than to get the phone running. In theory because I'm recently out of contract I should be able to save $25 per month, but Verizon couldn't get the billing system to cooperate, so I still have that to take care of.
     
    RA_BH likes this.
  21. dodald

    dodald Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    18
    4
    16
    I just looked at my account and it no longer says "non-vzw device". Looks like they finally added the phone to their system.
     
    Clementine_3 and kokiangel like this.
  22. Suzi_Derkins

    Suzi_Derkins Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015

    Sep 11, 2015
    60
    28
    33
    I just checked mine as well and see the same thing. Good news.
     
  23. GeekyPete

    GeekyPete Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015

    Oct 10, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Since I had to get a new nanoSim from Verizon (my Note 3 used a microSim) Verizon had to play a game to get my Pure working on their system. They had to use a Verizon phone that had a nanoSim slot, activate the SIM card in that phone, then transfer it to the Pure.
     
  24. kokiangel

    kokiangel Android Expert
    Rank:
     #71
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,326
    706
    253
    Female
    Banker
    Helena, Alabama
    They just called VZW customer service and got mine activated that way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...