1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Another Update From Sprint?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AmericanHero, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #590
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38
    I have the original 2.1 release from Sprint. I rooted and have not yet disabled the update function. A couple of times I have got pop up notices that an update is available and I just cancel and go about my business. Today I got a notice theat "2" updates were available. I have been searching, but not seen any referance to this. Anyone have an idea on what this other update is?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dave-droid

    dave-droid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    e-town, il, usa
    I suspect the notifications you see are not software/firmware update(s) from sprint. You are probably being notified that updates are available in the 'market' for your apps.
     
  3. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #590
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38

    No, I am used to the app updates. This was different. I have it disabled now anyway, but I am still curious. Obviously there has been no firmware update. I guess it will just go down as a UAO "Unidentified Android Object" :)
     
  4. klockk

    klockk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    There was ONE update last week.. but I'm not seeing another one for my Hero as of yet... and I just checked....
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    .6 is a security patch that also happens to close root access.

    .7 is rumored as bug fixes, though I haver not seen a changelog.
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    I have not seen the .7 update nor has anything been posted on HTC about it yet, well I haven't even updated the .6 update yet, LOL but I would like to hear from others if they have received the .7 update and post some info or review on it
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    I've only seen posts about it here on the forums (I'm rooted...) and if the forums weren't going turtle speed this morning I'd find the thread I saw on it for you. :)
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Well.... reading through the past few pages I'm not sure what I saw that made me think there was a second OTA....

    Since I'm rooted, I'll just shut up now :(
     
  9. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    349
    37
    63
    Male
    Systems Analyst
    Wilkes-Barre, PA
    I am running .6 and I am told there are no updates when I check manually.
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    LOL, I think you may have read a thread about 2.7 update, I think
     
  11. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,523
    259
    163
    Question: it is still possible to root with .6, correct? DW accepted, and, while she may never root, you never know.

    I thought .6 made it harder, but not impossible.
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course

    From what I know you cannot root on .6, you would have to reload the 2.1 update to revert back to .5 and then you could root again
     
  13. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,523
    259
    163
    Thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...