1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Any one help a dumb blonde

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by emmamac, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. emmamac

    emmamac Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Hello everyone,
    my first of many posts.

    just had the new desire delivered this morning great phone but have problem with wifi.

    If i reset phone also router then connect through wi fi everything works fine for about 3 minuets then every thing slows down on the phone until the wifi speed slows down to almost nothing.

    Could my broadband speed be to fast for the phone as i do have fast broadband speed.

    Telephoned T MOBILE who couldn't help.

    I am new to Android phones and i am thinking are my settings correct is it my broadband speed or is it the phone or even the settings in the router.

    Can anyone help,
    as you would put a big smile on a ladies face if you could.

    SORRY IF POSTED IN WRONG SECTION.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    No so much wrong section as many sections. :rolleyes:
     
  3. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    480
    35
    43
    how do you know wifi speed slows down to nothing? do you mean signal streggnth?
    try a different open network in your area
     
  4. NexuSix

    NexuSix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    135
    4
    36
  5. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    399
    45
    43
    Luton UK
    Eh?? :thinking:

    An ISP detecting that a phone is being used and slowing down the bandwidth? I have to admit that's a new one. Never ever heard of that before, at least in the UK. Is it even possible?

    Like I said in her other thread I think it's most likely an 802.11 mismatch.
     
  6. androidrock

    androidrock Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    Talking about dumb blonde, I have one joke:

    A blonde, wanting to earn some extra money, decided to hire herself out as a
     
  7. Flaring Afro

    Flaring Afro Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    445
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    445
    57
    53
    college (Computer Science)
    VA
    My college's internet only allows you to use 1 console at a time without paying for a premium internet, and you have to pay premium to let your cell phone connect as well so it is possible.
     
  8. DaddyJosh

    DaddyJosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    19
    6
    16
    Landscaping & Construction
    Franklin, MA, USA
    Doubt its your broadband being "too fast". Your d/l speed will depend on your phones processor and such. Try powercycling your router (unplug it for 15 seconds and plug it back in) as well as your phone (reboot it). If that doesnt work try reseting your router. Normally theres a small button on the back or bottom of the unit that can only be pushed with a pen tip or a straight paperclip.
     
  9. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    If you have a computer on wifi, and it still has a fast connection, I doubt its the ISP. I would think it's more of the phone. Have you tried to exchange it for another one?
     
  10. emmamac

    emmamac Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Sent a message to HTC and trying to get my head round the fact that HTC dont support N class routers.

    reply to my email below from HTC

    Dear Emma

    Thank you for contacting us.

    In regards to Wi-Fi

    I can help you with that.

    The problem is going to be with the homehub, as our phones dont support N class routers and homehubs are usually N class. You can however turn it down to b or g class with no problem.

    I trust that this resolves your query, please do not hesitate to contact us again if required.

    Thank you for contacting HTC.


    Best regards,

    HTC
     
  11. DaddyJosh

    DaddyJosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    19
    6
    16
    Landscaping & Construction
    Franklin, MA, USA
    Yup theres ur problem lol
    Personally I dont know of any phone/smartphone that supports wireless N

    You just need to switch to G or B, like the email says. Poke around your routers setting page, it should be fairly straight forward.
     

Share This Page

Loading...