1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Any OTA Froyo in UK yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CeePeeBee, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,109
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    Oh really. OK - I have updated manually anyway since the file was posted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. stoosh

    stoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    England
    Unfortuantely Checkin brings up a black square with an exclaimation mark with success written on the notification bar, however the N1 doesn't prompt for any update to be downloaded. I suppose Google will just trickle it down to everyone else when the IMEI numbers go through the servers.

    Urgh!!!
     
  3. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    Oh my God! What on Earth did you do to your poor liccle phone?!
     
  4. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,109
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    I all but bricked it :eek:

    Not sure how, rooted OK and then all working OK but then after a day or two I couldn't do anything to get a signal...
     
  5. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    Ahhh, that right there is the reason I don't like fiddling with my phone. Bad luck :(
     
  6. Fatal Exception

    Fatal Exception Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    137
    4
    36
    My phone just OTA updated itself. I'm in the UK with a Nexus bought directly from Google and on T-mobile.

    I'd also already updated to FR85b. I thought that was final!
     
  7. hunta

    hunta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    104
    5
    36
    I've not bothered participating till now, as it gets boring reading about people who've not received their OTA yet.

    However, looks like there might be a pattern developing... Has anyone on Vodafone received their OTA yet? If so, did you buy direct from Google (i.e. just using a Vf SIM) or through a Vf store?
     
  8. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,109
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    Fortunately it wasn't too bad. Cost me around
     
  9. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    ...I don't see a pattern. I see me with a stock phone direct from Google, bought in January, and no update. I think they get spat at phones randomly. I'm not even entirely sure it should matter whether you bought through Vodafone... I was under the impression the N1 was the N1, with no carrier added nasty bits.

     
  10. JJBlade

    JJBlade Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    No OTA for me as yet.

    T Mobile

    Google sourced in March

    ere27
     
  11. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #254
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    252
    10
    38
    Male
    No OTA 4 me:

    On 3, Google-shipped from USofA 3rd Feb...

    However, good to hear it's started...

    Cheers!

    Lodger (Grrr... & a right A***e fanboi is coming for lunch tomorrow...)
     
  12. stoosh

    stoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    England
    Yeah mine was sourced in early feb and still nothing, makes me wonder how Google are pushing out the updates.
     
  13. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    Every time you use *#*#checkin#*#* you get pushed back 10 places in the queue. I'm guessing I'm near enough at the end of the queue ;)
     
  14. stoosh

    stoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    England

    Hehe I guess we better stop using checkin then! At this rate we might get Froyo by end of July?! :eek:
     
  15. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    As long as my boyfriend, who bought a Desire a couple of weeks ago, doesn't get it before me, I'll be happy.

    ...

    Who am I kidding. If it's not here by Sunday I'm doing it manually.
     
  16. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Unfortunately for Voda customers, it does. Their handsets are EPF21B or EPF30 and do not have an upgrade path. I use their forum a lot and a fair few customers are few up and have been unlocking and moving the 'proper' firmware.

    'Bout freaking time :D:p
     
  17. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    Right. I'm not doing it just because you said that. Way to ruin my Android experience.... :D
     
  18. WannabeMKII

    WannabeMKII Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Probably a stupid question that I've missed the answer to already, but does rooting and manually updating the firmware wipe everything on the phone? For example, will I have to set up email, install apps again, lose SMS messages, call logs etc?

    Thanks.
     
  19. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Unlocking your bootloader does indeed wipe your phone. However a manual firmware update doesn't need the phone to be unlocked, and doesn't lose any data.

    Ner ner na ner ner ;)
     
  20. WannabeMKII

    WannabeMKII Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Ah ok. I'm one of the lucky punters on Vodafone with the EPF30 build and wanted to get on Froyo.

    To upgrade, would I need to unlock the bootloader? :thinking:

    Apologies for the basic questions, I've just come over to Android after being a Windows Mobile user for the last few years and frequently updating the ROM on my device and it's all a bit new for me...
     
  21. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    229
    23
    38
    Bristol, UK
    Not true unfortunately, I bought mine directly from Google in January and have since manually updated to FRF85B, I've still not received the FRF91 OTA yet.
     
  22. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Poo! Yes, unfortunately you have to unlock the bootloader, thus wiping your phone.
     
  23. WannabeMKII

    WannabeMKII Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Gutted :(

    Now I need to decide. Do I see how long it takes Vodafone and then see what they've actually done with the ROM, or do I unlock and risk the warranty...?

    If I unlock and upgrade the ROM, will I then be excluded from Vodafone ROM's and part of the official Google OTA update club instead?
     
  24. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Yes you will, unless you decide to go the full 9 yards and move to custom ROMs.
     
  25. WannabeMKII

    WannabeMKII Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Thanks Rusty. I don't think I'll go down the custom ROMs route, as it'll take up fair too much of my time playing around and trying all different ROMs. Well, this is my experience from Win Mo and don't think I'll be able to drop the bug here :rolleyes:

    Now I need to decide what route to take... Grrr... I know I should wait, but I'm impatient and don't like being dictated to by the network provider :eek:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...