1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Any OTA Froyo in UK yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CeePeeBee, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. TOR

    TOR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    That was my plan too. Getting bored of waiting so will do it manually this weekend. I don't know why, I just wanted the update as an OTA :p
     

    Advertisement

  2. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,109
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    The phone should get the OTA fine. The Nexus One is Google's phone and therefore the firmware is not altered by the carrier as far as I'm aware. It's when you start adding things like HTC Sense, Motoblur etc that updates are held up because these have to be modified to work with the new OS version.

    As long as Vodaphone haven't added any splash screens etc then it should be OK.
     
  3. Curnsie

    Curnsie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    So as I understand it as I have EPF21B on my nexus one from vodafone, i cant manually update? Instead i have to root?

    Am i correct?

    Drew
     
  4. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    You are correct.
     
  5. noisemonkey

    noisemonkey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    on 3, my phone is US import from Google.
     
  6. Curnsie

    Curnsie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    Thanks Rusty
    So if I root my phone will I get all future OTAs from Google or through vodafone? Or will I have to root again?
    Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to all this android updating shenanigans!
     
  7. Hmmm

    Hmmm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Swindon (unfortunately)
    I'm currently in Oman in the middle of the dessert so thought there's no way I was going to get the ota update until I returned to uk next week, turns out I was wrong! Arrived yesterday!

    There was no update message in the notification bar Just a screen message asking if if I wanted to restart my phone to install the system update!

    It appears that the update has nothing to do with your carrier as I have an Oman mobile sim in mine at the moment and I'd be surprised if Google knows anything about them! Nexus isn't available in Oman!
     
  8. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    If you have the AT&T model or the TMo model, it doesn't matter what SIM card you have inserted into your Nexus :p
     
  9. Hmmm

    Hmmm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Swindon (unfortunately)
    Didn't think Google would push an update over the network to a country they don't sell too. Especially as they don't Have 3g where I am.
     
  10. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I believe that Google is slowly rolling out the update on phones based on the IMEI (or some other phone identification) and not carriers (for TMO or AT&T models). Since there are people in Canada that have stated getting the OTA udates.
     
  11. stubzi

    stubzi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    13
    1
    16
    UK
    Talderon likes this.
  12. michael_84

    michael_84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    62
    3
    16
    IT Techy
    Manchester, UK
    You only need to unlock your bootloader if you want Froyo (android 2.2) now, you can wait (no precise date has been set yet) for Google to send an update to 2.2 for phones running EPF21b/EPF30, you won't be left behind.
     
  13. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    The build for Vodaphone are being held up by Vodaphone, not Google.

    God Damn Vodafone!!!!!!! why!! - xda-developers
     
  14. michael_84

    michael_84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    62
    3
    16
    IT Techy
    Manchester, UK
    Am sure it will be Google making the modifications as oppose to Vodafone, though am not arguing that it was Vodafone who made the request for modifications to Froyo.

     
  15. stubzi

    stubzi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    13
    1
    16
    UK
    A pleasant surprise already: Picassa is now syncing web albums with my Nexus Gallery which has never previously worked for me.
     
  16. Curnsie

    Curnsie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    So I couldn't wait.... I followed this guide, which ironically was posted on Vodafones forum!! I now have Froyo FRF91. :D

    Google Nexus One - Android 2.2 - Froyo! - Vodafone eForum - Page 14

    Another post I read a couple of pages earlier in the link above mentioned that they have since received the very latest OTA from Google (FRF91?).

    Drew
     
  17. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Glad my guide helped. :)
     
  18. stubzi

    stubzi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    13
    1
    16
    UK
    Oh that's good, you're here. Because I couldn't find an option on the guide to say thanks.

    So thanks!! :D
     
  19. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    248
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    LOL! You're welcome. :)

    I like to help, but sometimes information is hard to find, so I made the group to centralize it. I am still fleshing it out, but I made sure to make it so you don't have to join to see the content. I'm not out to drive up members (although it is nice to have) but make a central repository of information. :)
     
  20. hunta

    hunta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    104
    5
    36
    Just received FRF91 OTA. I bought my N1 direct from Google back in January and am using a Vodafone sim. The kicker... usb tethering is greyed out.
     
  21. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    229
    23
    38
    Bristol, UK
    Try plugging your USB cable into the phone and then your computer and check the setting again.

    You can't switch USB tethering on unless it's plugged in! :p
     
  22. hunta

    hunta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    104
    5
    36
    LOL! :rolleyes: I realised that just as I hit post. What a dufus.

    It works perfectly. :eek: Need to test further, but on 2.1 I wasn't able to maintain a connection to read / write files, but that seems to be fixed on first glance too. That would be a major step up for me - saves removing the card and putting it in a reader, or doing it over wifi.
     
  23. The Shadow

    The Shadow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Just received my ota 2.2 this morning for my uk simfree N1 on o2.
     
  24. stoosh

    stoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    England
    You're so lucky, when did you buy your sim free N1? I got mine in Feb and still haven't received an OTA yet. I wonder how Google are pushing out the updates, it seems that they're certainly firing up the servers in the morning as I haven't heard of any one who has got an OTA during the day.
     
  25. kamran

    kamran Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi.
    This is my first post. I would like to share that I have received my 2.2 OTA this morning.
    I am in UK bought my phone in February direct from Google. I am on orange network.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...