1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Any success with TetherGPS?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by flu13, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    I tried this last night, but it didn't seem to work right. Note: I was using TetherGPS Lite. I ran it on both my Moment and my Nook, and on the Moment clicked the "Start Server" button, and on the Nook clicked the "Start Client" button. My phone's GPS icon started going, but then nothing ever seemed to really happen.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    I tried the software. I installed the lite version on both my nook and Optimus, and the nook said (well, the client said) it was receiving the location data. I need to get the phone and nook on an adhoc to make sure Maps was displaying data over the GPS tether, and not just usiing my wifi for location. Otherwise, Maps put me right on the spot.

    edit: can android do adhoc? If not, this seems kind of pointless.
     
  3. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    Yes, you can do an adhoc network. If you get the app Wireless Tether for Root Users, you can launch that on your phone to basically become a wifi hotspot. I couldn't get my manual nootered 1.2 to connect to the adhoc network (and I don't think I could with CM7, either), but Phiremod has no problems with it.
     
    TheAmazingDave likes this.
  4. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    It seems to work great with my devices. I had Wireless Tether and TetherGPS Server Lite running on my Optimus M, set TetherGPS to broadcast the IP, joined the wireless network on NC, turned on NC's "GPS", and started the TetherGPS client on the NC. Within moments, the TetherGPS client picked up the location data from the phone, and NC placed me successfully on my street using Google Maps.

    ThetherGPS Server Lite only gives me a few minutes, so I took a quick walk with the devices, and it worked great. NC showed me moving on Google Maps.

    I noticed it depletes the Optimus' battery quickly and the device became warm fairly quick. There are settings to reduce the transmitter power with the Wireless Tether app, as well as using Bluetooth. I'll be playing with those options as well... :)
     
  5. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    Dave, tell me about this broadcast IP setting. I've seen it sitting there, staring me in the face, but I haven't touched it.

    I've also yet to actually try this in a place where my phone could even get a GPS signal (Moments are notorious for bad GPS reception).
     
  6. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Well I couldn't get Nook to see the signal at first, then as soon as I enabled that setting, TetherGPS client started receiving the GPS data. You can probably set IPs manually, but given the configuration I felt the automatic mode was best.
     
  7. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Oh, BTW, you need to have mock locations on in the development settings.
     
  8. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    On the phone, the nook, or both?
     
  9. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    On the Nook. It seems that this is the setting that allows the device to take 2nd-hand location data and use it as its own.
     
  10. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    Cool, I'll check that out.
     
  11. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Did you get it working? I'm loving it. I ended up paying for it specifically so I can use Noom Cardio Trainer on my Nook. I was using that program on my Optimus, but after I upgraded it to CM7, Cardio Trainer would no longer run. Now, I fire up Wireless Tether and TetherGPS on my phone, fire up the clients and my GPS tracker on the Nook, phone in the holster with Nook in the backpack, and I'm good to go. It worked great for me today on both rides to/from work.
     
  12. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    I tried this weekend. My dumb phone (did I mention that it has GPS problems sometimes?) would never lock onto a GPS signal. I keep forgetting to try again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...