1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Any way for ringtones not to appear on the music application?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EarlZ, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. EarlZ

    EarlZ Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    285
    11
    38
    Is there a a way for my ringtones/alarm tones not to display on the default music application ??
     

    Advertisement

  2. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Put a file in their folder called .nomedia - make a text file in Windows with notepad and save it as all files, naming it .nomedia
     
    hippo_potamus, dc2447 and EarlZ like this.
  3. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Or you can just create the file in your android phone.
     
  4. ardyer

    ardyer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    272
    35
    43
    Northern Virginia
    I tried the ".nomedia" option, but then they quit appearing in my ringtones list as well.
     
  5. goughy

    goughy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    84
    3
    16
    Yeah, I had the same thing happen to me. If you do a search on 'nomedia' there is a thread which lists a program you can download where you can set folders that don't get searched by the music application. It's also worked for some, but again for me the mp3's I used for ringtones dissapeared.
     
  6. EarlZ

    EarlZ Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    285
    11
    38
    Yeah this is the problem I have now, I cant use my ringtones anymore.. ill give nomedia a search and see if i can find the application..

    EDIT:

    Was not able to find it, anyone who has a solution about this ?
     
  7. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    OK, another approach - if you create the following directory "/sdcard/media/audio/ringtones" and place the files there does it work the way you want?

    EDIT: Nevermind, that doesn't work either.

    EDIT EDIT: I see that in Astro you can directly assign a file to be the ringtone, perhaps doing that for a file in a .nomedia'd folder will work?
     
  8. EarlZ

    EarlZ Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    285
    11
    38
    I'll give that a try.. It pains me knowing that andriod is such a great OS but lacks the basic ringtone and profile options LOL!
     
  9. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I know, there are definitely a few everyday activities that are needlessly painful in Android...
     
  10. EarlZ

    EarlZ Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    285
    11
    38
    I see that astro can only assign it as a call tone, not an SMS tone =(

    God this is so frustrating..
     
  11. goughy

    goughy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    84
    3
    16
    I ended up getting mixzing for my music/video player and set the folders to look for music in.
     
  12. ralphitz

    ralphitz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Same problem here. All the ringtones/smstones/notificationtones show up in the MP3-app; With .nomedia in those folders, they're unable to be selected AS ringtones/smstones/etc. So that .nomedia-option is really useless....
    Is there a solution figured out after all?? Maybe?
     

Share This Page

Loading...