1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Any way to downgrade VV3 to ZVA?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ninjalootah, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    Is there any way this could be done?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    If you are rooted and have a recovery, why not just flash a stock or modded ZVA onto it?
     
  3. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    Could that damage phone? Like brick it?
     
  4. jmwinf146

    jmwinf146 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    217
    14
    38
    Or leave it alone. If rooted you can remove bloatware. What benefit does ZVA have over vv3?
     
  5. elbayames

    elbayames Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    104
    7
    36
    i wonder why LG would replace a zva phone with a vv3 phone?no company will ever give you more for your money so i dont think there is benefit to vv3 or maybe i'm wrong.
     
  6. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    It's smoother and has Quick Memo. Battery life is still poop. That's why I wanted to go back to ZVA and put another rom onto it. I'm just worried about bricking it since I hear the updater doesn't work for replacement phones.
     
  7. elbayames

    elbayames Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    104
    7
    36
    the guys who have created custom roms like BP BO and Number2 can guide you better than me but i would wait to hear from them before doing any flash.
     
  8. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I'm not sure. There is very little here about VV4, which I think only Myshkin has posted about and you're the first poster I've seen on VV3. The VVx software is sort of new for the voLTE service that, I'm unsure if MPCS is even implementing yet.

    There is only trial and error until we get more info about it, I would assume leaving it until then. But, I did just see something in Myshkin's VV4 thread about Lito007 using the Virtual Machine method to downgrade VV4 to ZVA. THIS POST HERE--> http://androidforums.com/connect-4g-all-things-root/662676-v-v-4-a.html#post5358636

    So, you do have a root, did that process also put CWM on your phone too? (I didn't watch that video you posted yet)
     
  9. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    I was able to root and I installed CWM on it. And I have no clue how to use or what Virtual Machine is. :\
     
  10. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I agree. Even with a Nandroid backup image made, the Connect is very temperamental with CWM. I've soft-bricked mine trying to use a Nandroid restore after a custom ROM went sour on me. I hate having to be so careful flashing ROMs to this phone!! :mad:
     
    SegamanXero likes this.
  11. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    I know what you mean. I don't have enough money to risk bricking my phone, that's why I'm trying my best to get as much information as I can before I do any kind of flashing.
     
  12. SegamanXero

    SegamanXero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Damn I didn't realize it was like that. I felt fairly safe with my Nandroid backups and my titanium backup. I am fairly tech savvy, and felt comfortable flashing any roms I felt like flashing after doing backups. I will have to be more careful in the future though. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  13. Lito007

    Lito007 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    76
    10
    18

    Well i feel kinda famous.... kinda... haha

    If you reeaalllyyy want to go back to ZVA you can try what i did. Like you said though, VVx does feel smoother, and you were able to Root and install CWM!! thats awesome!! I did it cause i wasnt able to do either one. If i were you, i would make a back up through CWM and then try Custom ROMS on it, if anything goes wrong, you still have your VV3 back up :D !!!

    Anyways, back to important business. What i did to go from VV4 to ZVA was that i first Factory Reset it with this method, the Virtual Machine method:

    http://androidforums.com/connect-4g...od-lg-ms840-connect-brick-guranteed-work.html

    Its a long download, but its all there. Just follow the steps carefully and you should be good and back on.... ZV9. Haha, at this point if you want to upgrade from ZV9 to ZVA, then download the LG Mobile Support Tool and upgrade it through that:

    LG Support Tool - Download

    OR

    Download LGMobile Support Tool 1.6.1.1 Free - Update the drivers on your LG phone - Softpedia

    By the end of it all, you should now be on ZVA =) . Hopefully i helped out, good luck man!
     
  14. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    If any of you have a backup of vv3 or vv4 can you upload it?
     
  15. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    Thank you so much for the virtual machine method. I was trying to find it. :D
     
  16. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    Okay, I didn't use the virtual machine technique at all because I decided to take a risk and flash a custom rom even though I'm on VV3. And I'm glad to say that it worked. What it did was it changed the SW version to ZVA when I flashed the rom.
     
  17. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    That's great! Now you're proof that any VVx update can go back to a custom ZVA based ROM.

    You're way more brave than me :D I flashed #2 since that whole soft brick fiasco I went through, and I'm just staying with it now :D
     
  18. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    The thought of flashing #2 scared me ever since I got my replacement. But I had the virtual machine just in case anything went wrong. And now I still have VV3 backed up as well.
     
  19. jgarcia88

    jgarcia88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    130
    28
    43
    Orlando,Fl
    Can you upload you vv3 backup?
     
  20. Ninjalootah

    Ninjalootah Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    67
    1
    16
    Sure, could you just help me on how to do it? I'm new to this kind of stuff...
     
  21. jgarcia88

    jgarcia88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    130
    28
    43
    Orlando,Fl
    Just Look for it on your sd card inside the cwm folder and upload it to dropbox or 4shared.com and post the link here!!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...