1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Any way to use Google voice over wifi on deactivated droid?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by CoreyOli, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Title says it all.. I have a droid that isn't activated and would like to use
    Google voice on it via wifi as a home phone.. thanks!

    Corey

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     

    Advertisement

  2. SkinnyDude

    SkinnyDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    16
    1
    16
  3. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    From the looks of it sipgate costs money?

    Any free way Lol

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. jroryl

    jroryl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    26
    1
    16
    Question for the experts about Sipgate, to signup for the free account it wants my cell number to send the Invitation Code. I have blocked all text messaging since I use Google Voice Text exclusively. If I enter my GV # to get the Invitation Code, does it matter down the road that I didn't enter my Cell #?
     
  5. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Just out of curiosity, if a Droid is deactivated, does that mean it is either lost, stolen, the account holder has not paid their bill, or they have manually deactivated it?

    Which of these is most likely?

    I'm just trying to make my mind up as to whether the OP is asking for help to get a stolen Droid to work :D
     
  6. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Its my droid... A deactivated it Lol.. I would like to use it as a home phone with Google voice though...

    Nothing shady!

    Corey

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    160
    176
    68
    Computer Scientist
    New York
    Sipgate one accounts are free, and charge you for outgoing calls. *Incoming calls are free*.

    What I do for free calls is I'll be logged into sipgate with sipdroid, and use my droid browser to go the google voice webpage, and initiate a call there. It calls my sipgate number, I pick up, and google voice connects the call.

    Since to sipgate it's an incoming call, it's free.

    Google voice won't charge you as long as it's a call in the U.S. (and Canada, I think those are free too).
     
  8. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    It doesn't mean anything other than it was deactivated. A blocked ESN, on the other hand...
     
  9. JKaiz

    JKaiz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    48
    0
    35
    Orlando
    I am leaving to go overseas today. I should have looked into this before today but I thought skype mobile worked on wifi (stupid me...) This will work overseas calling back to us on wifi overseas?
     
  10. SkinnyDude

    SkinnyDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    If you use Fring, you can do Skype calls over wifi.

    SIPGate One if free and gives you a CA number with free incoming calls. I think they just need a number to text the validation code to make sure you're in the United States.

    You can use Google Voice app to initiate a call where it will call the SIPGate number to make an outgoing call and have SIPDroid or Fring running to answer that incoming call or you could set it up with SIPSorcery where you can just dial any number you want like a regular phone. Both will work fine. Using the Google Voice app may be easier, though.
     
  11. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    I was hoping I could just use the google voice app, but there is nowhere to dial from... was REALLY hoping it would be as easy as firing up google voice and putting in a number, kind of like the texting is, lol..

    -Corey
     
  12. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    160
    176
    68
    Computer Scientist
    New York
    When I was in Japan on wifi, I just used the google voice webpage on my droid to initiate the call, and have it call my on my sipgate one account through sipdroid. Worked great, lots of free calls. Quality was way better than I anticipated, but there was a bit of delay calling around the world. Nothing more than what I'm used to on a regular international call to the other side of the world.

    I don't mind using the google voice webpage at all on the droid, it has all my contacts in there already. Pretty handy. Would be nice if the google voice app had the same capability, but I won't complain for free calls.
     
  13. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    well got it all working except no audio on the droid.. I've tried all codecs they are either incompatible or no audio..

    Any ideas??

    Thanks!!
     
  14. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    ugh.. also on incoming calls, I always on the droid but it keeps ringing on the calling phone and it never connects...

    I suppose I should try again tomorrow when I didn't have a few beers, lol..

    If anyone has any ideas on what I can try, I'd appreicate it!

    Thanks,

    -Corey
     
  15. SkinnyDude

    SkinnyDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    Which program did you use? SIPDroid or Fring? Try both of them. And you using it with SIPGate?
     
  16. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    160
    176
    68
    Computer Scientist
    New York
    I use sipgate and sipdroid together, without any in between such as pbx.org or sipsorcery, or any of those. Here's my relevent settings in sipdroid:

    For SIP Account settings:
    username/pw
    Server set to sipgate.com
    Domain left empty
    Username/Caller ID left empty
    Port 5060
    Protocol UDP (I don't think sipgate supports TCP, or at least they didn't used to. If you really wanted TCP for better battery life, you'd need to go through something like sipsorcery or pbx.org)

    Audio/Video Settings:
    Earpiece gain High
    Mic Gain Medium
    Headset Gain Medium
    Headset Mic Highest
    Video Quality High


    Audio Codecs settings:
    G722 HD Voice, Only over WLAN and 3G
    silk24, Never
    silk16, Only over WLAN and 3G
    silk8, Always try
    PCMA, Only over WLAN and 3G
    PCMU, Only over WLAN and 3G
    Speex, Always Try
    GSM, Always Try
    BV16, Always Try

    Advanced Settings:
    Use Stun Server, Unchecked

    Think those are the only relevant ones for my setup. If you're shooting for the same kinda setup, then maybe trying some of those settings might help. I assume that you're firewall at home isn't blocking SIP right?
     
  17. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    434
    36
    63
    Male
    Driver
    Ohio
    ^^ that should work, but then the only problem is you can't dialout at all from the droid and always have to use the webpage, unless you have credits on your sipgate account.
     
  18. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    If I could just get the audio and incoming call thing fixed I could work on the rest Lol....



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  19. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    Got everything working perfectly with Fring!!

    Thanks for all the help guys, greatly appreciated!!

    Now I have a home phone again, lol..

    -Corey
     
  20. CoreyOli

    CoreyOli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    106
    4
    56
    lol.. no sooner do I get it all working and it seems as though sipgate went down.. that's my luck!!!!!

    Ugh!

    -Corey

    Hopefully their sip service comes up soon... I cant even dial my sipgate phone number from a regular phone at this point haha...
     
  21. CaribbeanMike

    CaribbeanMike Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi everyone, so I've read here and looked all over but I can't find a solution for my specific problem. I have a DroidX, I terminated my verizon service because I moved to the Caribbean permanently. Now I need to figure out how I can make/receive calls/texts over wifi (free would be nice, but nothing could be as expensive as verizon would be out here so I'm open). I'm very out of the loop about this stuff and any technical terms, but I'm not incompetent, so if someone could walk me through it that would be awesome. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...