1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root anyone can help me root my DHD hir my ssoftware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by japhon123, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    My device info of AMT shows the below information of my DHD:

    Device Model: Desire HD
    Bootloader Version: 0.85.0024 SHIP HBOOT
    Radio Version: 26.09.04.11_M2
    ROM Version: 2.42.415.1
    Android Version: 2.3.3
    CID: HTC__J15
    Can anybody please tell me what do i have to do to downgrade and root??
    i'd like to install the MIUI rom, but i'm new to this rooting business and i'd really appreciate anybody's help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    :) We are all helpful types here:

    1. Follow this here: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-...b-build-downgrade-1-32-405-6-easy-follow.html

    2. If needed read and cross reference this thread too: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-all-things-root/354749-how-root-install-custom-rom-desire-hd.html

    3. Download a version of MIUI from here: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-...ks-leedroid-arhd-miui-updated-26-08-11-a.html

    If you get stuck at any point then we can help. If you download the MIUI pack from the link in 3. it has a walkthrough installation guide that also links to plenty of help over on XDA too. There is all the info you need. People go to a lot of effort to bring all this together so if you find anything useful and thats absolutely anything please use the thanks button.

    Good luck, have faith in your own intuition and ability and take that first leap into the unknown and root shall be yours my son!
     
    japhon123 likes this.
  3. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15


    have you already do it in your DHD??
    so do i need to create a goldcard..kinda hard to follow..sorry for the disturb:D im just a noob.. i just wanna root my DHD...if i root i can install cyanmod?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    Yep, lots of us have already. :)
     
    japhon123 likes this.
  5. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    If you have a branded phone and it is sim locked meaning you can only use your networks sim in the phone then yes you need a goldcard. ;)

    Oh and yes you will be able to put cyanogenmod on after you are rooted so long as you follow the guides that I have linked you to. I have rooted my phone the ROM I am using is in my signature.
     
  6. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    when i rooted my phone im gonna install your signature:)) i such a noob person i dont have idea for rooted ive tried some gingerbreakk to root my phone its all fail:(( hope someone teach me step by step so that i can follow or any video ... so i have branded phone?? and when i check some forum my build number is high thats why i should wait for new updated downgrade to root my phone...do you facebook or any account for fast instruction what i will do first..i dont any idea what i do next because ..what is temproot blah blah...maybe it brick my phone:(( thanks for the time Mr.stublake .:D
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    The links stublake posted above are all step by step guides. I'm not aware of any videos, unfortunately.

    But yes, your firmware's build number means you are running firmware that can only be temp rooted. So what you need to do is downgrade to older firmware which can be permanently rooted. You should follow these instructions: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-...b-build-downgrade-1-32-405-6-easy-follow.html

    Right from the 'Temp Root' section at the start to the 'How to Flash recovery with ClockworkMod' one at the end. Feel free to ask any questions about the process here though. Like with gingerbreak - what went wrong specifically?

    Once you've done that you'll be able to install MIUI.
     
    japhon123 and SB13X like this.
  8. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    SO do i need to do goldcard first because i bought this phone to vodaphone and im just wanna root my phone to erase some application on the phone so that i can increase my battery life..:D
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,007
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,007
    9,640
    1,433
    UK
    In theory then just getting temp root on your current firmware would be enough to remove bloatware from your phone. No goldcards or downgrading required.

    However... I have only ever heard people talk about temp rooting 2.3 in the context of downgrading. I don't know if that means anything or not though.
     
  10. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    so what i do First to root it??
     
  11. The Cure

    The Cure Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    11
    4
    36
    Hi I,m like you when i first started very confused and no idea how to root my branded DHD, but with the help of Xyro,Stub,El P,and the guide from Cubz I managed to root my DHD. The first thing to do if your phone is branded is to downgrade.Downgrade:


    1. Create a goldcard:

    Quote:
    1. Format SDCard to FAT32

    2. Download Goldcard Helper from Android Market

    3. Open Goldcard Helper with the SDCard in the phone, and you will see the mmc2 reverse CID
    Note: Do not use the Copy feature in the app as this will copy the wrong CID!
    Alternate to the Goldcard helper app:
    Quote:
    1. Open up a command prompt (Windows Key + R, type "CMD", press enter)
    2. connect your phone as "charge only" and have usb debugging enabled
    3. navigate the command prompt to the downgrade folder.
    4. Type the following command:
    Quote:
    adb shell cat /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc2/mmc2:*/cid
    5. Select and copy the cid
    4. Go to http://psas.revskills.de/?q=goldcard

    5. Enter your email address and the mmc2 reverse CID that is showing on the Goldcard Helper app then submit it

    6. The img file will be emailed to you, download and save it somewhere you will remember

    7. Download this hex editor - http://mh-nexus.de/en/downloads.php?product=HxD

    8. Open HxD hex editor on your computer by right-clicking it and clicking 'Run as Administrator'

    9. Mount your SD card to your computer, preferably using a card reader but you can use your phone as well

    10. Go to 'Extra' menu > 'Open Disk'. Select Removable Disk (which should be your SD card) under Physical Disk (and NOT logical disk), uncheck 'Open as Readonly' and click OK

    11. Go to the 'Extra' > 'Open Disk Image' and open the goldcard image downloaded in Step 6. . Select '512 (Hard disks/Floppy disks)' as the sector size when prompted and click OK

    12. In the goldcard image tab, go to 'Edit' > 'Select All' and then 'Edit' >'Copy'

    13. In the 'Removable Disk' tab, highlight offset (line) 00000000 to offset (line) 00000170 including the 00000170 line and go to 'Edit' menu > 'Paste Write'

    14. Click 'File' > 'Save' and accept any warning that you get
    2. Place the stock 1.32 PD98IMG.zip on the root of your SDcard/Goldcard

    4. Open the file in the folder named "RUN THIS FOR DOWNGRADE". The command prompt will opn and begin to do the adb steps for you.


    Quote:
    Alternatively (If step 4 fails):


    Run the below commands in CMD:


    adb push misc_version /data/local/tmp
    adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/misc_version
    adb shell /data/local/tmp/misc_version -s 1.31.405.3
    adb reboot bootloader
    5. You should see a white bootloader screen, press the power button to enter the bootloader and it should automatically start to detect the PD98IMG.zip file.
    6. You will see a blue progress bar on the right of the screen while the file is being checked. You should now be asked to confirm if you want to install this ROM, press 'Volume Up' to confirm. Wait patiently while the ROM is installed.
    7. Once the installation is complete, press the 'power' button to restart your phone.

    You have successfully downgraded to stock 1.32 :)
     
    japhon123 and El Presidente like this.
  12. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    should i buy a spare mini sd for the goldcard?
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Just back up everything on the current SD Card and you can use that. Be warned that not all SD Cards can be made gold cards so you may need to try another one if the current one doesn't work.
     
    japhon123 likes this.
  14. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    how do i backup my sd card,,can i copy my all files?? to my computer and format it..or i will use an apps for back up...sorry for more question..tnX:D
     
  15. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    Just mount the phone as an external disk drive on your PC, create a folder on your desktop called SD Card (or whatever you like), then copy the contents of the phone on to it.

    If you're scared about the entire thing, you can try this method here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=952352

    It makes rooting and installing clockwork a one click process.
     
  16. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    is this okie i saw this thread before but i didint know if someone use this,,but what the best thing you can prefer for me??
     
  17. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
    CD Plant used it here and confirmed it works no problem. The dev also posted in the thread and says it works with the DHD too.
     
  18. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    is this working for branded phone so i will create goldcards first ??? i wanna try this but i wanna chat for people so that i can reply fast
     
  19. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    As per the thread that El Presidente linked, the tool creates a goldcard itself - as in it is working for branded handsets - so no need for you to do that yourself! :)
     
  20. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    yes sir!!! do youu have fb or skype so that i can reply fast and i wanna try this now!!!
     
  21. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Sorry - sent the message before I left for work this morning. I am now in work and only check this site from time to time. In the thread that's linked, it says that the tool only takes 5 mins to root though... I haven't used the tool (I rooted months ago using one of the ADB methods, as I rooted from Froyo), so don't know how much help I would actually be! The tool is, I believe, a one click that does everything for you...
     
  22. CDPlant

    CDPlant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,645
    974
    213
    Essex, UK
    I tried this tool yesterday (made a thread on it) and I am branded to Three UK (though not anymore ;)) and it worked perfectly.

    I used OSX, unzipped the file to my desktop, opened a terminal window and ran the script. All I had to do was have the phone plugged in (charge only, USB debugging on) and follow the instructions on the script. Press one button and it does it all for you :) 5 Minutes later the phone reboots to the main screen and you're all done
     
    japhon123 likes this.
  23. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    the aCe advanced kit is Working....I have rom manger superuser busybox..i just want to install a ROM now:D..tnx u all Guys:DD..anyything i must know or something i must know:D???
    CAn some one help me to install leedroid :D as i wish to my Xyro and star:D thank u so much to El presidente
     
  24. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,093
    3,118
    Scotland
  25. japhon123

    japhon123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    16
    0
    15

Share This Page

Loading...