1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Anyone else get new T-Mo WAP settings today?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by colnago, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    I'm in Maryland, but I'm still only getting ~930Kb down and 330Kb up. I was originally on the $10/mo "web2go" plan, which was good for 3Mb down and 2Mb up in Philadelphia's "upgraded" network. I started my non-contract plan when I got my 900 in Dec., and was connecting to the Internet2.voicestream.com APN.

    I was concerned that my traffic was routed through somewere in Kansas, per speedtest.net, while I'm in Maryland. T-mobile changed my web service to "smartphone", but I was then able to access all the APNs (epc.tmobile.com, WAP.voicestream.com, etc), but again, my download speeds still at ~1Mb.

    I woke up this morning with a message that my carrier has new WAP settings for me. The Connection name changed from T-Mobile Internet to

    Connection Name: WAP Settings

    APN: epc.tmobile.com

    Proxy (never had one before): 216.155.165.50:8080


    ...however "use proxy" is not checked.

    Anyone else get any updates from T-Mo recently?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    i got nothing in the way of messages or updates
     
  3. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    471
    43
    43
    IT, Student
    Texas
    I have a smartphone, Samsung Behold II, and yes that is the network setting I have. So thats probably just what happened. Change in plan, phone gets updated.
     
  4. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Fair enough. But while I was on the phone with tech support, they changed my plan, and I was immediately able to access the internet through all (3) APNs. I had to manually set the phone to epc.tmobile.com to get it to work. I had changed it back to the internet2.voicestream.com, just for testing purposes. However the issue is that I received an "over the air update a week later"...now with a previously unseen "proxy address"?
     
  5. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    471
    43
    43
    IT, Student
    Texas
    But does it really matter? The use proxy option was set to off. Same for my phone as well, though it does not include the proxy ip.
     
  6. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243

    Well given that the "word on the street" was that 7Mb is being rolled out accross the country (end of '09), I'm just trying to get a handle on what/when is going on. As far as the APN names, it matters "for me" because the Internet2 APN has my traffic routing out somewhere in the middle of the country. epc APN is "closer" to my area on the east coast...big difference in latency. Again, the proxy address "addition" and the connection name "change" were pushed out OTA.
     
  7. mr-zee

    mr-zee Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    26
    0
    35
    Website Optimimisation
    UK
    still waiting for my hero but my outgoing sms settings and my voicemail were updated on my MDA today. Had a real 'mare and couldn't use my phone for most of today.
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    I just did a speed test at speedtest.net (vs. www.speakeasy.net/speedtest), and its finally showing my as being in the proper state (Maryland, instead of New Jersey). This with the epc.tmobile.com, still not using "proxy". Speeds are still ~800-900Kb down, 200-350Kb up...getting closer.

    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...