1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support anyone else notice a low signal?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dvigue, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    Maine
    I got the new fascinate today. I love it. Got rid of my bold.....but my bold go so much better bars...I had like 4 to full with my bold in town......with my fascinate I only get 2 and at work I get only one...this is my only gripe with this phone...I can see it sucking the battery bad. How could I turn off 3g while I'm at work? Any ideas? I hope with software my signal will improve...
     

    Advertisement

  2. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Don't look at bars, look at Menu, About, Status. Look at signal strength in -dBm.
     
  3. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    Maine
    I did...goes from 91 to 101....
     
  4. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    You can always update "roaming" on verizon:

    Dial * 2-2-8.
    Press your call/send button to make the call.

    Your screen will say "Programming in Process" and you will a women's recorded voice prompting you to chose option 1 (programming) or option 2 (update roaming).

    Option 1 is used to program/reprogram the phone, usually when activating for the first time or you have made any major [provisioning] changes on your account.

    Option 2 is used to update your roaming capabilities, which is basically a download that enables better roaming coverage and therefore better reception.

    You will receive confirmation messages as the process goes on.
    Once the programming or roaming update is done, the phone should reset itself (turn off and turn on).

    Do this in the area you use your phone the most, as it updates based on regions.
     
    selvikin likes this.
  5. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    Maine
    great info there! i did it today and it seems to have givin me one mroe bar. but i am always lowe (db wise) then my wifes bold. faulty phone??
     
  6. orangemt246

    orangemt246 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    EMS
    Hudson Valley, NY, USA
    As I am reading this, my signal goes anywhere between 2 and 4 bars, just sitting on my sofa. My previous phones always had full bars. My status goes from -86dBm to -91dBm to -101dBm and back. I am watching it now as I type, even after the *228 option 2. A bug, or a recurring problem with anyone else?
     
  7. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    Maine
    yeah same here..goes from 1 to 3 then back, and same with the Dbm. i really am thinking this might be a bug...

    anyone?
     
  8. Don S

    Don S Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    629
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    629
    180
    93
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA
    Me too. Way less bars. Call quality and reception are fine so far though, but it's early ...
     
  9. fegriffith

    fegriffith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    177
    6
    36
    Same thing here. My wifi signal is also very weak. I can be sitting in the room right next to the router and still don't have full signal showing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...