1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support anyone else seeing the signal bars completely disappear?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BubbaNexus, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
    all bars completely disappear and the call i'm on will drop and data won't work. this has happened just over the past two days. trying to figure out if it's verizon's networks or the phone. lol

    i have to turn the phone off and on to get signal bars back, airplane mode on/off doesn't get them back.

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
  3. finn5975

    finn5975 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    246
    61
    53
    Male
    Tax Analyst
    Illinois
    Happens to me nearly often unfortunately. I'll pick up my phone to use it, and there will be no 3G (Im not in a 4G area) and when I go to connect to say, facebook, it will tell me there is no internet connection. After a minute or to it will return. Often times I will see zero bars for signal but it hasnt yet seemed to translate to dropped calls.
     
  4. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
    ahh sounds like maybe a bug then. glad i'm not the only one lol
     
  5. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,459
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,459
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Happened a few times to me...

    Deff a bug..
     
  6. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
    cool thanks guys.
     
  7. Titan

    Titan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    12
    2
    16
    Me too but no dropped calls. Sometimes I lose data though.
     
  8. ndwgolf

    ndwgolf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #330
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    106
    4
    36
    Oil Rig Worker
    Malaysia
    I got no bars right now as I am 60 miles offshore of a Bloody Oil Rig offshore Angola 55555
     
  9. snuggles

    snuggles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    580
    57
    78
    Chicago/NW Indiana
    Just recently it keeps going back and fourth from 3G to 4G.
     
  10. vanack

    vanack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    Nebraska
    Mine just goes dead from time to time with no connection -3g or 4g. Takes anywhere from from 5-15 minutes to re-establish and then works great until the next time it drops.
     
  11. bburzzycki

    bburzzycki Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    I have also seen this.. I have seen 3g and 4g - then just bars with no 3G or 4G logo.. that is when I lose data...

    I called Verizon and they told em of some massive system outages they have had since the day it was released... on and off bouncing from 3g to 4g and 4g being on and off.. but that does not really explain the no data condition we have been seeing...

    They also recommended placing the phone is CDMA only... and not LTE... to me that is not why I bought the phone.....
     
  12. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78
    yeah verizon's 4g network has taken country wide craps a few times since the bionic's release. lol it's new, so i guess you can expect the same from the other carriers when they launch LTE networks too.

    i think the no data might be a bug with the GN that will be fixed with the 4.0.3 update soon.

    my phone actually hasn't had the signal bars disappear completely since those two days, so i'm starting to think it's a network thing....


    either way, i'm not worried. from what i've seen, samsung handles updates better than moto did with my bionic :eek:
     
  13. bburzzycki

    bburzzycki Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Have to say other than that - I one of the best phones I have used in some time....and I tend to really use the heck out of the phone as both a phone and a data device...
     
  14. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    One other thing of note is my wife's Bionic almost always has wildly different data readings. Getting quite frustrated with this.
     
  15. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    13,125
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    13,125
    9,766
    1,333
    Female
    Masquerading as a responsible adult
    Jersey - born & bred
    Mine does this as well. Most often at work.

    And the signal indicator on the Nexus is known to be more accurate than other phones. Don't worry, Verizon wants to remedy that by giving an update to make it less accurate to be in line with all their other phones
     
    ryancmatchett likes this.
  16. Imallvol7

    Imallvol7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I haven't noticed this problem in my Nexus. Is it may be just a weak signal where you are?
     
  17. BubbaNexus

    BubbaNexus Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    541
    66
    78

    read another poster stating that the bionic measures it's signal strength on 3g only because it's a limitation of gingerbread.


    i never tested it myself on the bionic, and just looked at the db signal strength rating out of curiosity on my GN after forum posts on here. i really don't pay much attention to it, to be honest, because i have no idea how accurate they are. :)
     
  18. gwtx2

    gwtx2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I use to have this problem several time/day on my original Droid. Have not seen this happen on the Gnex.
     
  19. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    167
    29
    43
    Mechanical Engineer
    New York City
    Im showing 3G , no bars at all , as i type this and my connectiong is decent at the moment ....weird
     
  20. JoJoCal19

    JoJoCal19 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    84
    20
    18
    Sr. Infosec Analyst
    St. Augustine, FL
    My phone does this as well. Whether I have it on 3G or Wifi, sometimes Ill wake the phone and the bars are all greyed out and I have no connection and will get a "no connection" message from the internet or apps. Sadly at this point I think I'm taking the Nexus back on Tuesday as I have the chance to trade in my iPhone 4 for a 4S and get $200 for it (have to keep an iPhone around somehow to use all the apps I've paid for). I will be watching these forums closely though because after a few updates are out and I see people are having a much better time with the device (battery, signal, etc) I will pick one up. LOVE ICS and the device for the most part.
     
  21. kevinaminator

    kevinaminator Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    16
    5
    16
    Happens to me, but I found that although my data connection cuts, my phone/texting still works.
     
  22. vanack

    vanack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    Nebraska
    This is what my screen looks like about 6 times a day.
     

    Attached Files:

    nycebo likes this.
  23. Member112085

    Member112085 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm also having this issue. Glad to hear it's not just my phone. Hope the 4.0.3 update helps.
     
  24. prostang

    prostang Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    102
    14
    58
    I have had the issue with cell signal and wifi. I have gone into the data settings and turned it on manually.
     
  25. sharmahw

    sharmahw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    I exchanged GNexus once already, same issue...at times no signal at all... get no data connection error on browsing, market, speed test apps.
    what is strange is I get 4G/4 bars in parts of NJ, closer to NYC, in parts of NYC and speed is sometimes 20 up, 10-12 mb down, elsewhere it won't even go above 1mb download:mad::mad: sometimes even in a 4g full signal area, it drops all bars for few minutes and then comes back...I am not sure it is the hardware...
    Annoying like Hell:mad::mad::mad::mad:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...