1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Anyone else with Unrevoked3 getting a Triangle error when updating OTA 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by simonedwards0947, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. simonedwards0947

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    60
    2
    36
    I downloaded the update but it wont let me install.. gives me a tri-angle error
     

    Advertisement

  2. brianu16

    brianu16 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    11
    3
    16
    yes anybody tried pulling the battery yet? i've been at this for 1 hour
     
  3. brianu16

    brianu16 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    11
    3
    16
    pulled battery booting up now..
     
  4. Namek

    Namek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    LA
    I pulled my battery after waiting for 45 mins. It reset back to 2.1.
     
  5. malibu23

    malibu23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    85
    17
    18
    Chicago, IL
    wtf...im stuck on the update screen too.
     
  6. simonedwards0947

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    60
    2
    36
    I pulled my battery. It booted up like normal

    I think it has something to do with the unrevoked3 but I'm not sure..

    I'm trying a factory data reset
     
  7. nethed

    nethed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    21
    8
    16
    Caspase Chemist
    Taxachusetts.
    Same thing here. This is uncomfortable. I called the Sprint Tech Support line. They said "go to the store"

    Damn
     
  8. malibu23

    malibu23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    85
    17
    18
    Chicago, IL
    how can we un-unrevoke then?! wtf!
     
  9. Rdot9

    Rdot9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    94
    24
    18
    my only guess is factory data reset. that's supposed to wipe everything off. then update.
     
  10. brianu16

    brianu16 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    11
    3
    16

    Is there a way to go back to stock os?
     
  11. nethed

    nethed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    21
    8
    16
    Caspase Chemist
    Taxachusetts.
    I'm trying to do the manual update. Booting into recovery mode, telling clockwork to boot from the update.zip on the SD card.

    Tried a factory reset, and that didn't do anything to help.
     
  12. simonedwards0947

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    60
    2
    36
    Downloading stock RUU right now to see if that works
     
  13. woofermazing

    woofermazing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    177
    42
    43
    At the triangle screen, hold down the raise volume rocker and tap the power button. Does anything happen?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  14. brianu16

    brianu16 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    11
    3
    16
    no
     
  15. Rdot9

    Rdot9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    94
    24
    18
    i did the manual update and still have the superuser icon in the apps page, so i dont think that gets rid of it.
     
  16. woofermazing

    woofermazing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    177
    42
    43
    You might be able to install it through the bootloader. Turn the phone off, hold down the volume down rocker and power the phone up. Go into recovery and install the zip.

    Edit:

    Yea, pretty much that.

    Here's the RUU's if you'd rather just go back to a completely stock phone and then update. I would not give up root so easily though, there is no guarantee this froyo release will ever be exploited.

    http://shipped-roms.com/shipped/Supersonic/
     
  17. malibu23

    malibu23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    85
    17
    18
    Chicago, IL
  18. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    unrevoked3 ft...w?
     
  19. simonedwards0947

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    60
    2
    36
  20. jonsdad

    jonsdad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    12
    2
    16
    which zip?

    Do you know where OTA puts the update?

    I guess I can use the earlier leaked version of 2.2.


     
  21. VGPOP

    VGPOP Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    588
    64
    78
    Is the triangle red?

    If this is the case, you need to continue hitting UP volume and POWER button at the same time until you get window to install update.zip

    At least that's what I did. But I did a manual update, tonight's update was OTA.
     
  22. atypical1

    atypical1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    San Diego, ca
    Why would you OTA your rooted phone when there are so many ROMs out there that are based on 2.2? Why not just flash one of those? I'm running Fresh 3 (beta, I need to download the real one sometime) and it works wonderfully. I'm also using UR3 fwiw.

    Which ROM were you using?

    james
     
  23. malibu23

    malibu23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    85
    17
    18
    Chicago, IL
    roms arent 4 everybody. they all have lil quirks.
     
  24. zadillo

    zadillo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    49
    5
    16
    Male
    Washington, DC
    I'm seeing a white trangle with a yellow exclamation mark. And hitting up and power don't do anything.

    At this point I'd be glad to wait to find out what to do to just upgrade to 2.2 with unrevoked 3 in place.
     
  25. simonedwards0947

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    60
    2
    36

    I agree... I'd rather have stock apps on my phone than have to dick around with custom roms and re-flashing and shit like that

    I tried unrevoked to save battery with setCPU but it didnt make that much of a difference.. I just re-flashed to stock RUU and update so far is working

    I experienced a rooted phone and I'm just going to stay stock now
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...