1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Anyone get OTA to 4.3 yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by K_M, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. K_M

    K_M Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just wondering if anyone got it yet
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Not the official OTA, but you should be able to manually update it even without root
     
  3. rich2626

    rich2626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    120
    14
    58
    Male
    New Zealand
    Nope,just checked a few minutes ago...
     
  4. K_M

    K_M Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    How can I do that?
     
  5. sfbloodbrother

    sfbloodbrother Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    6,109
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012

    Jul 30, 2012
    6,109
    733
    233
    Male
    Full time student, Part time McDonalds crew
    Chicago IL
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think it comes out until the 30th and the new Nexus 7 ships.
     
  6. JustZaphod

    JustZaphod Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    For those who cant wait for the update you can download the 4.3 rom straight from Google
    https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images

    Look for Nexus 7 Wifi or (nakasi) if u flash anything else u will brick your device!
    So flash at your own risk!
    Look for Android 4.3 (JWR66V)

    And you will you will lose root..


    Edit: I recommend making a recovery back up, either Clockwork Mod, or TWRP including a Titanium Backup as well.. It wont be long until 4.3 will be rooted.. If u Flash this, you will wipe your device to factory settings!
     
    Ginxeng likes this.
  7. steveu694

    steveu694 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    472
    35
    43
    Male
    Not yet. The 30th? I doubt that. My friend got the ota on his nexus 4 yesterday.
     
  8. wrecklass

    wrecklass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    124
    29
    43
    They said updates to Nexus devices begin the day they announced it, so keep checking for system updates.
     
  9. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    If someone has the data enabled version, they should download the tilapia one, ;)
     
  10. TharOosta

    TharOosta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    116
    3
    36
    Male
    Tennessee
  11. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    528
    60
    78
    Male
    Developer
    Arizona
    i manually flashed the update as soon as it was live on Google Developer's website. so far, it's not much different. =P

    although, correct me if i'm wrong. if i had waited for the OTA, would that keep my data information? since i did a manual flashboot of the update, i had to re-transfer some files, re-login to apps, etc.
     
  12. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,579
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,579
    3,498
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Yes, this is the case. I had found the link to download the OTA manually (which I flashed through TWRP) by googling. Only problem is I lost root and can't seem to get it back (I was using a rootkeeper app too)

    EDIT: Rerooted with SuperSU
     
  13. JustZaphod

    JustZaphod Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Now why didnt i think of that! :D


    Personally im going to wait until Paranoid Android catches up
    no rush to upgrade..im not that desperate for a few under the hood changes:p

    If you did the OTA update all your settings would remain the same.. and imported..
    I did forget to mention that!
     
  14. steveu694

    steveu694 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    472
    35
    43
    Male
    Just checked again. No update.
     
  15. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,823
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,823
    865
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    Same here, checked both the 7 and 10 at 7pm and both claim they're up to date despite having 4.2.2.

    Correct me if I'm wrong but I was under the impression Nexus owners got updates as soon as they are released. What gives?
     
  16. steveu694

    steveu694 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    472
    35
    43
    Male
    Will probably take a day or two to get it out to our devices. However, all my other updates were lightning fast. This has been the slowest one so far. Oh well. The update is nothing special anyways.....
     
  17. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Typically, yes.

    Google posted the files for anyone to update them. I posted instructions in the android lounge thread to update manually without root and without losing data

    If you want the ota update you may have to wait as not everyone gets it instantly.

    As someone else mentioned, its entirely possible 4.3 hasn't started rolling out over OTA yet because the device that 4.3 is being released on isn't actually out yet...

    So while they've announced 4.3, the device its being released on hasn't been released.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  18. steveu694

    steveu694 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    472
    35
    43
    Male
    So explain to me how my friend got the update on his n4 the day of the unveiling? Hmmmmm
     
  19. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    No problem ;)

    My post was speculative. I didn't say nobody had gotten it, I said its entirely possible it hasn't started yet.

    But thanks for confirming it has indeed been rolling out.
     
  20. steveu694

    steveu694 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    472
    35
    43
    Male
    Thanks rxpert83! We will keep waiting.....
     
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    This is probably worth reposting here:
     
    palmtree5 likes this.
  22. sparksd

    sparksd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012

    Jun 18, 2012
    145
    35
    43
    Seattle, WA
    I sideloaded it to a stock N7 without a problem or loss of data. Only issue I am seeing is that 3rd-party video apps like MX Video Pro, Dice Player, and Archos do not work on 4.3.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  23. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,579
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,579
    3,498
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    I actually had no issues flashing that through TWRP but your mileage may vary
     
  24. gingersnapgirl

    gingersnapgirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012

    Sep 15, 2012
    309
    61
    83
    Female
    Oakland, CA
    I followed these instructions, but kept getting a message that adb was not a recognized command.

    anything else I can try?
     
  25. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,579
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,579
    3,498
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Are you running adb from the directory it's located in? If not, is the path to it in your PATH variable?
     

Share This Page

Loading...