1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support anyone having GPS problems?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tim K, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    Worked great yesterday. Today can't get signal.
    in Philadelphia PA area.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    168
    4
    36
    Sales Rep
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Well, I'm a long way from Philly, but I had no problems with my signal. There is a program, GPS Status (free), that you can down load. It will show you the status of your signals and has a "calibration" procedure that is supposed to give you a little more accuracy (as reported by others, I've not tried it yet).
     
  3. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    GPS has worked well for me (NY)
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Yes, I have a GPS issue. I'm trying to figure out if I want to sell my Garmin and for how much. :D

    But seriously though ... there is a calibration procedure. Has to do with the spinning the DROID on 3 axis, or something like that. I think it also calibrates the accelerometer. READ THIS THREAD.
     
  5. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    No, it was working yesterday but couldn't get a signal today until about an hour ago. I ran 2 gps status programs and both showed the droid picking up multiple sats, as many as 5, but it couldn't get a fix on the loaction. Very odd.
     
  6. gimmeanathlon

    gimmeanathlon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    69
    3
    16
    I eat monkies.
    PDX
    Working well here. Though long way from you. :D
     
  7. SteveC

    SteveC Member
    Rank:
     #1,240
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    52
    3
    16
    Male
    irrigation management
    Klamath Falls, OR
    Frankly, I have been amazed at how well the GPS works. I don't think it has a chance of replacing the Garmin out in the woods and marking way points and such, but the phone is a LOT better than I thought it would be.

    I second the GPS status download. Sometimes the GPS seems to locate better with WiFi enabled.
     

Share This Page

Loading...