1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General anyone having trouble with custom ringtones?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Steel36, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Steel36

    Steel36 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    217
    34
    43
    Male
    Northeast Georgia
    I've selected custom tones for a few contacts but the phone always rings with the default ringtone. Kind of annoying.
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    where did you get the ringtones from?

    try getting one from zedge and saving it to a profile that way.

    worth a shot anyway.
     
  3. jrose1g

    jrose1g Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I tried using MP3 Ringtone to create one. The app seemed to work, but the phone won't accept the ringtone as its default.
     
  4. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    148
    93
    Arizona
    I had to move the mp3 file I had on SD card, into the internal storage labaled "Ringtones" in the file manager to be able to set them as individual tones. Same thing with alarm tones. You have to move them into the "Alarm" file.
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    seems odd that the android system on moto would do something like that
     
  6. Ih8apple

    Ih8apple Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012

    Oct 1, 2012
    40
    3
    16
    I use the "ringtone maker" app and it works fine. But it does have to be in the "ringtones" folder.

    I found it more annoying that I couldn't set custom notification tones for different people, but using handcent instead of the default messaging app fixed that problem.
     
  7. Steel36

    Steel36 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    217
    34
    43
    Male
    Northeast Georgia
    what is the internal storage? since external1 sort of seems like the new sd card slot I'm confused. Ice cream made some weird changes in my opinion. (like losing the ability to set volume for ringer and notifications together)
     

Share This Page

Loading...