1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Anyone install ICS on original Galaxy Tab?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fuzzyreets, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    111
    1
    36

    Advertisement

  2. Excedio

    Excedio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    294
    44
    63
    Palm Harbor, FL
    BaadAndy likes this.
  3. gren0

    gren0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012

    Feb 20, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Samsung needs to quit stalling about the ICS (Ice Cream Sandwich) Android 4.0 update on the current Tabs.

    Yes, you can root and do this but we shouldn't have to go through all that.

    And no, I wouldn't buy the Tab 2 just to get ICS.

    Samsung needs to support its current users if they want good karma which will bring them more buyers in future.

    .
     
  4. BaadAndy

    BaadAndy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    80
    6
    16
    KY
    WOW flashed the 10.0, then the 10.1 over it and I must say its smoking HOT works flawless for me.
     
  5. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    I installed CyanogenMod on my Tab last week. As well as it runs, it just makes me wonder why Samsung has had no interest in putting out an official release of ICS? (Nevermind, I already know the answer...)

    All critical services work (3G, WiFi, Bluetooth). I've had no problem with apps. My biggest issue so far, is that the screen sometimes fails to rotate correctly, forcing me to reboot. It doesn't happen often. The Tab seems to be, overall, more stable than it was with the official 2.3 release. The second biggest issue, is that the cell network displays as Verizon Wireless. I've checked my usage history on the Sprint website, and I can confirm that I'm definitely using Sprint...it's just a label. I'm hoping to find an easy way to fix that.

    I did try one of the other versions (it may have been AOSP, but I'm not sure), and I had a WiFi problem. I would receive a strong signal, but I never could connect. So I went back to CM.

    In short, it's almost like I have a brand new tablet.
     
  6. The Absolute

    The Absolute Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #814
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    157
    9
    36
    Male
    Sr. Windows Systems Administrator
    Cibolo, TX
    I just installed ICS on my Tab and it made that a better device. I still may get one of the newer ones after the contract is up but right now, I love it.
     
  7. fuzzyreets

    fuzzyreets Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    111
    1
    36
    Simple. They want you to upgrade to v2 that has cheaper hardware in it.
     
  8. lfeqlbrm

    lfeqlbrm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    56
    3
    16
    Head Repair Technician
    Inkster, MI
    It's current RC is on build 10.1 works flawlessly. You have to install different versions of cwm to get past the verification issue. Google search: ics aosp cdma build 10.1 rootzwiki
     
  9. Degga_D

    Degga_D Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    51
    1
    16
    UK
    Hi,

    I have the p1010 do you guys know if the ICS will work on this device? It's rooted
     

Share This Page

Loading...