1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Anyone jumping from a Blackberry to the Atrix?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pubielewis, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. pubielewis

    pubielewis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I just wanted verify all these discussions about AT&T grandfathering unlimited data plans when switching to new hardware -- will this also apply to existing AT&T Blackberry users with the unlimited personal BIS plans going to the Atrix? TIA

    Can't wait to get my grubby little hands on this thing :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. francodman

    francodman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    21
    2
    36
    Bay Area, CA
    I am. I wasn't able to order the phone without changing my rate plan, though.
     
  3. pubielewis

    pubielewis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    Feb 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Dang... was this through the AT&T pre-order site or at a corporate store?
     
  4. MosIncredible

    MosIncredible Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    83
    12
    18
    DFW, TX
    I'm coming from a Bold 9000. My plan was changed from "Unlimited Blackberry Data Plan" to "Unlimited Smartphone Data Plan". I handled my transaction at the store.
     
    pubielewis likes this.
  5. francodman

    francodman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    21
    2
    36
    Bay Area, CA
    This was through the AT&T pre-order site.
     
  6. tag4

    tag4 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    as MosIncredible said, it changes to smartphone data plan, i ditched BB as well. I handled all my transactions over the phone, kept same plan and everything, that was the only change, just the wording for the data plan.
     
  7. Jp77

    Jp77 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    80
    1
    16
    Im switching from Bold 9000 too. I was curious about this too. I hope i can get them to keep my unlimited data plan. I can leave AT&T next month and Im definitely gonna try to use this as leverage.
     
  8. element526

    element526 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    20
    3
    16
    Space Coast
    I'm switching from a 9700 Bold. On the pre order site all I had to do was change from an unlimited Blackberry to a unlimited Smartphone.
     
  9. tical2k

    tical2k Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    85
    8
    16
    Well I'm not replacing a blackberry, but when i switched, I grandfathered my "iphone unlimited data plan" but had to do so in store. Actually I take back "had" I just pre-ordered in store to make sure i could grandfather it. Otherwise I would have jumped ship from AT&T despite the "want to have it" phone.

    It seems to me if the blackberry unlimited data plan was something they REQUIRED you buy when you got the phone, a la iphone 2 years ago, it wouldn't make sense to REQUIRE you no longer have unlimited. Talk about pulling a Sony on removing features as an update...

    Just go to the store and ask, my bet is it will be carried over.
     
  10. techandroid5

    techandroid5 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    39
    2
    16
    I have already asked ATT about this, as long as you are switching from Smartphone to Smartphone you will be grandfathered. I switched from BlackBerry to Iphone and back to BlackBerry and have been able to keep my unlimited data everytime.
     
  11. arunsharma7

    arunsharma7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    117
    20
    38
    Framingham, MA
    I am shifting from BB 9700... very excited!!
     
  12. Rounin

    Rounin Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Without hesitation I am upgrading from my Bold 9000, but I'll keep it around for international travel until the Atrix gets carrier unlocked.
     
  13. phatskipper

    phatskipper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    13
    2
    16
    I was going to keep my 9000 for international travel... but i called to try and get it unlocked yesterday... they told me this phone will never be unlocked by ATT. I even went to local store and had them call... they were told the same thing.

    The rep at the store was confused because they had done this in the past. The person at ATT said they were no longer unlocking phones... PERIOD. The store rep said to the phone rep that this was a big deal and why were they not notified.

    Could someone confirm this?

    P.S. I am already done with my 2 year contract... going to sign new one for Atrix on Monday.
     
  14. arunsharma7

    arunsharma7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    117
    20
    38
    Framingham, MA
    Not worth wasting your time talking to ATT Representative in store or over the phone just pay $1 or $2 in ebay to get the unlock code as I did for my BB 9700. you can try this..

    ??Unlock Code for AT&T Blackberry Bold 9000 9700 9800?? - eBay (item 170606086752 end time Feb-21-11 10:00:26 PST)
     
  15. idroidberry

    idroidberry Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    46
    3
    36
    Real Estate Broker
    South Pasadena
    i have gone from blackberry unlimited to iphone unlimited to motorola unlimited...

    no issues....twice in store and last time at best buy. She had to call to get the code but it wasnt a problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...