1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Anyone know how to activate on screen buttons?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Duke 505, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. Duke 505

    Duke 505 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    68
    3
    16
    Male
    Detroit, MI
    I know there is a trick you can do to activate the on screen buttons on any rooted ics device by editing a file in the build.prop. But for some reason i can't find it. It's called
    "qemu.hw.mainkeys=0"
     

    Advertisement

  2. Playb0i

    Playb0i Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    49
    7
    16
    Lithonia,Ga
    You'll have to,use,the text editor in root explorer and add that to the build.prop qemu.hw.mainkeys=0 then save,it and reboot
     
    OutOfPhase and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. henrytamayo

    henrytamayo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    206
    41
    43
    Male
    Jus paste it at the bottom of the build prop
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  4. spanky0323

    spanky0323 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012

    Jun 17, 2012
    280
    38
    43
    Male
    useless
    melbourne,fl
    Stupid question, but what exactly does this do
     
  5. henrytamayo

    henrytamayo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    206
    41
    43
    Male
    Makes u have on.screen buttons like the nexus
     
    spanky0323 likes this.
  6. spanky0323

    spanky0323 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012

    Jun 17, 2012
    280
    38
    43
    Male
    useless
    melbourne,fl
  7. Duke 505

    Duke 505 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    68
    3
    16
    Male
    Detroit, MI
    Thanks i will try that. Kinda figured that. Idk why the instructions i saw said you had to find the file lol
     
  8. Sasuke082594

    Sasuke082594 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013

    May 13, 2013
    134
    2
    36
    Male
    California
    Also if you want to disable hardware keys then navigate to system/usr/keylayout and find syna-touchscreen.kl and open it as a text file and put # in front of every word "key" you see. Ex: #key
     
  9. henrytamayo

    henrytamayo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    206
    41
    43
    Male
    That file doesn't exist I just checked
     
  10. Sasuke082594

    Sasuke082594 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013

    May 13, 2013
    134
    2
    36
    Male
    California
    If this pic shows corrupted then open it on a web browser from your phone. That shows the location of the file.
     

    Attached Files:

Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...