1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Anyone know of a good screen shot app?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Daino92, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. Daino92

    Daino92 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    91
    11
    18
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Hey all, i just rooted my Droid 2, and overclocked it, and i'm wanting to take some screen shots and post them in the droid 2 section of the forums. But i do not know of any good apps for this, and i would prefer not to spend any money on it. Any ideas? thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Saltine713

    Saltine713 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    690
    55
    98
    Podcaster
    NY
    I believe that the only way to screenshot the phone is by plugging it into your computer. I don't think any app can right now for some odd reason.
     
  3. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    It sure is a shame they took "shootme" off the market. They should have just started charging a little for it. It was a good app. Now you have to know somebody that has it and can share it with you (I think with dropbox or busybox or something like that). But there is "shoot-it" for a small fee.
     
  4. shawn222

    shawn222 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    34
    0
    15
    With my Samsung Galaxy S2 I can take a screenshot by pressing the home and lock button at the same time. I don't know if that is something unique to this phone or not.
     
  5. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53

    I have it if someone can tell me a file host site to put it on that I wont have to sign up for.

     
  6. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    I used to have shoot me, and then I changed phones, and was going to retrieve it form a back up, but first I just Googled it, and I found it available for download, so just google Shoot Me

    p.s. any Idea why they took it out of the market?
     
  7. Saltine713

    Saltine713 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    690
    55
    98
    Podcaster
    NY
    I know! Why wouldn't they have a screenshot app?
     
  8. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    Security risk. If a non-root way to take screenshots was built in to the OS you might download some free game that has a screenshot engine hidden in it, it could take all kinds of screenshots of you reading confidential work email and upload them to russia or somewhere.

    I suppose they could make a new app permission "allow application to take screenshots" and it should stand out as really bad to see that when installing a game but it will just get ignored by everyone anyway.
     
  9. Daino92

    Daino92 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    91
    11
    18
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Thanks for all the reply's, hopefully i'll find one soon.
     
  10. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    You tried the shootme one I linked a few posts up? I think it works for most everyone rooted.
     
  11. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    The dev of shoot me said he took it out of the market because of rude comments from users... Furthermore he also said he will probably be putting it back in the market this weekend.... Just google "why isn't shoot me in the market anymore? " and the article should pop up.
     
    Petrah likes this.
  12. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL

    There's a ton of phones that have the ability to use screenshot apps without being rooted. The LG Optimus V is one of them (and maybe even the entire Optimus line as well).

    Supposedly, Android 2.3.3 will allow screenshots without having to root. See here.
     
  13. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia

    No not with the HTC Desire HD anyway

    Pep
     
  14. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    So the HTC Desire HD will never get 2.3.3? Id have to ditch that phone if it were me.
     
  15. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    The samsungs and a few HTCs I've heard of that can do screenshots without root can do so because the manufacturer added in that capability. Not google or android. And the guys at xda cooked up some app that can do screenshots on an atrix with no root because of some security vulnerability in its os they discovered, motorola didn't really add the capability for screenshots, more like they just did something to android that accidentally left it open is what I got.

    I asked about that no root needed for GB screenshots once in android lounge cause I'd seen that exact article (and I wanted to do screenshots but wasn't rooted.) Basically I heard back that it was just a rumor that went around before anyone had gb.

    How do you do screenshots on an LG without root? Is it built in? or what app? Wife has a Thrill and really wants to do this but not its not worth rooting a phone over. edit: saw in another thread home+power on an LG for builtin screen capture, worked on her thrill.
     
  16. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia
    No I don't mean the Desire HD Didn't get the 2.3.3 upddate.
    I mean Shootme doesn't work on an UNROOTED Desire HD Running 2.3.3

    Pep
     

Share This Page

Loading...