1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Anyone overclock x2 yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DroidFiend, May 21, 2011.

  1. DroidFiend

    DroidFiend Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    -If so, which app did you use?

    -What maximum speed are you stable at?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    SetCPU wouldn't allow me to go over 1Ghz
     
  3. myko14

    myko14 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    CoMo
    I have the full version of SetCPU and am also capped at 1000. But I just ran a Quadrant benchmark at 2465! Can't wait for the kitchen crew to get some ROMs and kernels cooked for this thing!
     
  4. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    My Quadrant Score:

    [​IMG]

    2755! I have a gTablet with a custom ROM (it's a 1ghz Tegra 2) and I'm lucky to get 2000. So this even with the crapware is a beast. I might actually keep this for a little while.
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You might be able to get one of the Droid X overclock apps (root required), like Quick Clock, to work with the X2, you can't use SetCPU alone.
     
  6. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    2 Different Apps haven't worked for me. My guess it can't be yet.
     
  7. Piscea

    Piscea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    A/V and anything else low voltage
    SL,UT
    So far I've hit 2705 as my highest quadrant score.
    rooted with some bloat apps deleted(not froze).
     
  8. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    Honestly, right now I don't need an over clock, the device runs great as it is.

    Edit: An the highest Quadrant Score I've been able to get is 2869 so far.
     
  9. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Considering the DX2 goes go up to 113 degrees without overclocking, you might want to where an oven glove ;)

    I just finished a 30 minute viewing on a Megavideo app and the DX2 is 104 degrees.
     
  10. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    Mine hasn't run hot. Its been running good so far.
     
  11. i_am_booked

    i_am_booked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    86
    6
    16
    where can u check the temp?
     
  12. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,963
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,963
    25,367
    3,933
    Male
    Geez that's fast.
     
  13. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    Thats without any tampering with the quadrant score. I think that is plenty fast myself.
     
  14. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    The Tegra 2 is fast already and I can too spell "wear" in right meaning (spelled "where" up above).
     
  15. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    Get a CPU temp app. usually widget that you can disable and use when you want. TempCpu is what I use, but sure there are others. It is in Celsius, but I know my conversions :)
     
  16. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    I have a gTablet too, but they have more room to dissipate heat than the DX2. With increased speed comes heat..... assuming the cpu is boosting the score, of course.
     
  17. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    don't hold your breath on that...it aint happening unless Moto hands out the keys to the bootloader ;)
     
  18. rottenpixies

    rottenpixies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    53
    5
    16
    Chef and Blogger
    New York
  19. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    The author is just listing examples of the types of things you can generally do when you root your phone.
    Still can't overclock as far as I know
     
  20. bolski

    bolski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    313
    73
    63
    Male
    IT Architect/Developer
    Correct because overclocking requires an unlocked kernel. Since the kernel AND the bootloader are locked, there is NO way to overclock the X2. You CAN underclock it, but that's it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...