1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Anyone remember..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NYCHitman1, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Anyone remember the # code to enter so I can change my slot cycle?

    I have my MSID but forgot what code that was to enter so I can access that menu.
     

    Advertisement

  2. V425

    V425 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    347
    22
    38
    Maryland
    ##3282#
     
    NYCHitman1 likes this.
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Incase you need all again



    * Call Sprint

    * Ask for "Advanced Technical Service"

    * Explain to them that you would like to change your Slot Index Cycle from '2' to either '1' or '0'

    * Go to the phone dialpad and type in ##3282#

    * After you hit the last '#' symbol, it's going to say "initializing"

    * Next, it's going to want to know if you want to go into "view mode" or "edit mode"


    Next steps require here the help of Sprint Support:


    * Select "edit mode"

    * It asks for a password

    * Enter MSL number (must get from the Sprint representative)

    * Go to the "Advance" tab in the "edit mode"

    * Scroll down to Slot Index Cycle (it's going to be set to '2)

    * Tap it and change it to '0'

    * Once back in the "edit menu" hit the hard button menu button (next to the trackball) to bring up the save option to save your new settings

    * This will save and reboot the phone

    The only thing you need from the Sprint Rep when you call, is your MSL number, but you have to have them help you through the steps, because they won't just give you your MSL number if you ask for it.
     
  4. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    There is a way to get your own MSL number, if you don't want to call Sprint. It involves using aLogCat...
     
  5. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Got it. thx.
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
  7. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    whats the advantage of changing the slot cycle?
     
  8. V425

    V425 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    347
    22
    38
    Maryland
    If you notice that you miss a lot of calls, it could be because often a call will ring on the other end a few times before the hero will register that a call is coming in, causing the hero to go to voicemail too quickly. Test it by calling yourself on another phone to see how many rings it takes the hero to respond. Lowering the slot index cycle will make it check the towers for incoming calls more often.
     
  9. Rube8514

    Rube8514 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    231
    17
    38
    Indiana
    I tried calling my phone when i was on slot index 2 when the landline phone that was right next to me.....my hero picked up little into 2nd ring.....after switching to slot index 0...i tried..still connects around 2nd ring. So this really didn't help me. Has it helped alot of people??
     
  10. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    It's helped me. Cut down from 6-7 rings to 2-3 rings but I notice my battery dying relatively quicker. I've considered changing the slot index to 1 and seeing how that runs. Worse case scenario, I'll go back to normal and continue to miss phone calls lol.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...