1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Anyone running JIT on BB V1 based ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by inssane, May 5, 2010.

  1. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    Is it stable?
    Gimme the scoop. How is it compared to the last 2.1 or even the last 2.01.
    I am itching to try it, but I have had minor stability issues in the past.
    N
     

    Advertisement

  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    My guess is if it was really stable we would have heard a lot about it by both Pete and the users. I is supposed to come stock with the official 2.2 (along with Flash) but time will tell. I am willing to wait for JIT unless some really compelling user experience grabs my attention.
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I'm with shrink. Jit is not worth it now wait for froyo
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I have enabled JIT on two previous ROMs (maybe more?), and the outcome is always the same. At first, it's really fast! But as time goes on, I began experiencing random reboots and strange behavior. All went away when I would disable JIT. So, you can count me out. BTDT I am running the 1.3G kernel and this is the fastest my DROID has ever been, so I'm satisfied without JIT.
     
  5. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    JIT = Reboot Heaven
     
  6. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    I have had the same past experiences. I just didn't see any threads or mention on this, so I thought it was odd. Rumors were that Pete was going to enable JIT as part of the ROM, but V1 seems to stable for that, lol.
    I too will wait - it would be nice if 2.2 has it, but I have a feeling that if it does, there will be issues galore.
     
  7. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    No more JIT for me. I took me a while to convince myself that JIT was not stable. I've been JIT-free for two-weeks. haha.
     
  8. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Hopefully Android 2.2 will actually come with JIT enabled and stable as had been stated on various websites. But as Messenger13 will surely say, Dalvik Turbo would be even better if we could get our hands on it:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...