1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General Anyone use 'Lecture Notes' app?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnB47, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. JohnB47

    JohnB47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    221
    16
    38
    Male
    Devon, UK
    Hi.

    I've been trying the trial version of this app and it seems to do what I want but I can't seem to get the index feature to work. Here's what I'm doing:

    I create a new notebook and add three pages, then index each one with a word (say Grapes, Beef, Bananas). I then go to the main app window (where I can see my new notebook but don't open it), I tap on the icon in the top left corner and choose to open index view (or whatever its called - sorry I don't have my GNote to hand) and I see the index words shown in blue characters, also an alphabetical listing of indexed pages below, with pages numbers in blue. At this point I feel that I should be able to just touch a blue word or page number and be taken directly to that page. But what happens is that I'm simply taken back to the main screen (via the window about using Help, that I've chosen to not hide for now).

    Am I doing something wrong, or is this a limitation of the trial version?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Benjie

    Benjie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    585
    52
    78
    Working and having fun
    Paradise
    Have you contacted the developer? He is rather responsive and helped me get over a stumbling block. I now use it extensively on both the 10.1 Note & Note 2.
     
  3. JohnB47

    JohnB47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    221
    16
    38
    Male
    Devon, UK
    Thanks. I actualy did that after posting this and received a reply very quickly. The answer is that the 'hint' dialogues that pop up take priority and stop the index function working fully until you disable all of them (by saying 'please don't show this again'). Now that I've done that it works as expected.

    Next I'm wondering if its possible to set up template pages. Any ideas?
     
  4. Benjie

    Benjie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    585
    52
    78
    Working and having fun
    Paradise
    That seriously is not a big problem. Set the template up and then save it as a pdf file. Then in a new notebook.import the template you just made and then create a new new layer to protect the template, though that may not be necessary if over writing it is not a factor.

    I also am using lined as an option in an attempt to keep my notes straight, which is probably a lost cause.
     
  5. 13ilgal

    13ilgal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    245
    60
    53
    Female
    That's a cool idea! I bet you could do this is S Note as well? (Is there a "save as" equivalent, so you wouldn't keep overwriting the original PDF? Off to look)...


     
  6. Benjie

    Benjie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    585
    52
    78
    Working and having fun
    Paradise
    Sure can. There are times I use both applications, as each has its strengths. Lecture Notes has a problem inserting a clip board entry, S-Note does not. Frankly though, if S-Note was capable of importing files, I would use it a tad bit more.
     
  7. JohnB47

    JohnB47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    221
    16
    38
    Male
    Devon, UK
    Thanks - good idea. Although I did import a pdf just to test it out and I noticed that the import looked sort of fuzzy - certainly not as sharp as something created within the app itself. Not sure why that is or if something can be done to improve it. Perhaps the problem was with the pdf, which was something I downloaded, rather than created myself. Must do some more tests.
     
  8. bmclachlan

    bmclachlan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    I just downloaded. One thing I noticed is that when importing a PDF, you cannot write on it. Is there a way around this?

    Bill
     
  9. JohnB47

    JohnB47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    221
    16
    38
    Male
    Devon, UK
    Yes you can. When you open the pdf, make sure you are working on that layer. Tap on the layer icon to see what layer is active. If the icon isn't visible, go to settings, menu, menu icons and unhide the layer one. However, you can't actually amend the text - you can just write or draw over it, because it's not the actual pdf, it's like a picture of it. At least I think that's the case.
     
  10. Benjie

    Benjie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    585
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    585
    52
    78
    Working and having fun
    Paradise
    Precisely correct.
     

Share This Page

Loading...