1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Anyone willing to help.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aaronstrong, May 21, 2011.

  1. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    Ok running .595 non rooted. Want to get to .595 rooted so i can run Apex. Any easy way to go about this? Looked at the user's rooting guide but it just seems very confusing. I have all previous android versions from the 2.3.340 maderstock to the 3 part update for .588. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    apex is not for .595 my friend, in order to actually get apex, you have to sbf back to froyo, then flash the 3 parts of .588 and then flash apex, its all because apex is based off of i do believe .591 (not 100% certain but i do believe) i hope you are prepared for the next 30 mins it will take to actually do all this :)
     
  3. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    so if im actually looking at this right i have to do the whole rsd lite thing? Because that stuff looked complicated.
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    yes you do, and its not complicated at all, its actually a good thing to learn all about rsdlite and how to use it properly
     
  5. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    i guess ill have to try :|
     
  6. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    hope it all works out for you, im headed to bed, so if you run into any errors such as bad image or something, redownload the zips and try again :)
     
  7. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    After i SBF back to .340 do i z4root it? Then i install the 3 part .588? all with droid 2 bootstrap?
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    yes you z4root it, and i think you can use the d2 bootstrapper, i use the dx bootstrapper, and then once on gb use d2 bootstrapper
     
  9. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    what exact model do i have to install of GB to run Apex?
     
  10. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    z4 root is just not working for me
     
  11. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    ok got all the way to the .588 3 part install and now its stuck in the bootloader mode. I think i forgot to wipe it first. Am i doing this right?
     
  12. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    now im stuck at the red M logo screen. any help would be awesome
     
  13. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    getting pissed off nothing is coming out right. SBF'ed about ten times. then i install maderstock .340. wipe everything. Try to install 3 part .588 gets stuck at red m logo. i cant figure out what to do im about to give up.
     
  14. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Which SBF file are you using? If your SBF'ing back to .340 then there is no need to flash maderstock over it.
     
  15. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
  16. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    What was the fault you had while trying to SBF to .340?
     
  17. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Once you SBF to .340 boot your phone into manual recovery (hold power and home, release power once the phone begins to boot but continue to hold home until you get the android with the ! then press the search key). Once in manual recovery wipe your phone (factory reset) a couple of times. Reboot. The root your phone (z4root) and reboot into cwm recovery via D2bootstrap. Once in recovery flash the 3 files for .588 and to prevent any issues I'd wipe again. Do not leave recovery until your sure you flashed all 3 .588 files. Reboot. From this point your phone is rooted. You can reinstall D2bootstrap and flash .595.
     
  18. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    i just hope after installing the 3 part .588 it doesnt get stuck at the m screen
     
  19. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38

    Make sure you wipe and it should be ok.
     
    aaronstrong likes this.
  20. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    sry bud i was at a birthday party, and no service, but the above explanation is what you need to do.

    you just need to remember maderstcok does not work, it bootloops you trying to go to gb, once on on 340 froyo you need to reroot, download dx or d2 bootstrapper from what im told, boot into cwm and wipe data and cache, and instlal the 3 files for .588 once you have down that, you can just wipe data and cache and install the apex version, but you must follow the directions EXACTLY! in the apex 2.0 thread
     
    aaronstrong likes this.
  21. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    yay finally to .588 thanks guys i think i might be able to handle it from here
     
  22. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    well im home now so if you run into a hiccup let me know, just download and install the apex versions from here
     
  23. aaronstrong

    aaronstrong Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    152
    4
    36
    Nebraska
    i might actually run the zombiefied. It looks pretty cool. So im just going to install the .595 and Gingerbreak it? Then just follow the instructions on the zombiefied rom?
     
  24. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    you need to read how to install the zombie rom because it may be different from the rest
     
  25. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    If you choose to go with .595, depending on which file you flash 2 of the 3 types are pre-rooted. Flash one of those and no gingerbreak need.
     

Share This Page

Loading...