1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General AnySoftKeyboard

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by adrenalinerush12, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    233
    118
    68
    Anyone tried this keyboard on the Eris? It's working great on mine. I like it so much better than the regular HTC keyboard. It's almost just like the standard Android keyboard but with different placements of buttons. You can even adjust the amount of vibration you get while typing each key. To enable it, go to locale & text, and select the check box. Then when you're about to type a message, long press the text box, choose select input method, then select AnySoftKeyboard.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bugeyeblue

    bugeyeblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    215
    8
    36
    Locksmith
    Just installed it to try it out. I've been looking for a more wide-set keyboard where the letters are bigger or at least spaced more. This is not the keyboard for that. It's even smaller than the HTC original and is much harder to use.
     
  3. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    189
    12
    38
    Hey, this one brings the Send key back in landscape mode! Not sure what I think of it yet, but that alone gives it an extra 10 points!

    Thanks for the thread!

    Doc
     
  4. mtruman

    mtruman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I got the TalkToMe keyboard a couple of days ago. Onscreen keyboard is pretty good (more standard Android-ish) but not better than the Eris. The voice-to-text capability is surprisingly good. Nice being able to speak notes and such into the phone when it's not convenient to type.

    A related question - are there any soft keyboards out there that have cursor keys? Having to touch in a text box to position the cursor is way too hard.

    [edit] - scratch that - I just answered my own question. Don't know why it never occurred to me to use the trackball to move the cursor. Duh
     
  5. WhiteDyno

    WhiteDyno Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Actually saw a previous post with large T9word keyset app. anybody got a clue?
     
  6. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    Handcent has a t9 plug in i think
     
  7. Peaser

    Peaser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    103
    8
    36
    To position thw cursor more easily use the trackball. It lets you roll around more easily.
     
  8. GrdLock

    GrdLock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    405
    188
    68
    Texas
    Hah, it's surprising how often I forget the trackball is even there. I swear for the first 2 weeks I had the phone whenever I made a typo in a txt msg, I kept trying to press my finger to move the cursor, which was kinda hard to do. Finally one day it occurred to me that maybe I could use the trackball!
     
  9. croid

    croid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    25
    2
    36
    Help Desk Tech
    Escondido, CA
    YEEEESSSS! Thanks so much folks for the trackball tip! This is gonna save me a lot of cursing when trying to position the cursor within a word!
     
  10. Mechmess

    Mechmess Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    how the heck do i choose a different keyboard? I installed anysoft and clicked the check box next to it in my text and locale settings but the htc keyboard still pops up....
     
  11. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I have handcent and anykeyboard... I almost always use anykeyboard .. I don't use T9 anymore so that feature isn't missed but handcent looks so much better and has a slightly nicer feel to it but it IMO is not as accurate and the auto correct isn't on par with anysoftkeyboard
    They are both huge upgrades over stock
     

Share This Page

Loading...