1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Anyway to speed up the dialer?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lilbballer27, May 3, 2010.

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Well the post title kinda says it all, but is there anyway to speed up or eliminate the lag with the dialer?
     

    Advertisement

  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    nope
    OC will be achieved soon for root users. that should help
     
  3. TTupa

    TTupa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    69
    9
    16
    A few people have suggested removing the tones from dialer buttons (Settings > Sounds and Display > Dialer Keypad Tones.) Also, clearing the call logs supposedly helps. You're still on 1.5, correct? I notice a bit of lag on my 1.5, but nothing worth working on. Hopefully the 2.1 update speeds it up a bit.
     
  4. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Im sorry but what is OC? and that kinda sucks we cant do anything about it.
     
  5. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010


    I clear my call logs every morning really does not help, but still do and yes im on 1.5
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    overclocking. makes the phone run faster.


    and ya, taking off vibrations and clearing the log help a little but it wasnt enough to make a difference for me
     
  7. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010


    Well ok hopefully 2.1 update will make it some what better. YOu can only overclock if you root right?
     
  8. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    right. they just released the kernal version so someone should be working on OC now.

    jcase posted something about it over on xda. hopefully some dev will put it together soon
     
  9. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    remember that root is totally reversible....
     
  10. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010


    Right it is, but it voids the warranty right?
     
  11. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    go back to stock and nobody will ever know.

    it voids warranty but theres no way to prove that your phone was rooted.
     
  12. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010


    Very true lol. Ok well thank you for the help!
     
  13. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
  14. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    I dont know if it is a fluke, but I am running 2.1 ver3 and my Dialer started to suffer like the others.

    I removed my HTC Battery Widget (Due to it sucking on my battery) yesterday and realized that all day today my Dialer Lag is SIGNIFICANTLY less.

    Is it related? Not sure. but it is promising.

    If you downloaded the HTC Battery Widget, uninstall it, reboot and give it a try for a few days.

    Hey you never know
     
  15. rick311

    rick311 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    673
    44
    68
    i removed the dialer tones and noticed a significant speed increase.
     

Share This Page

Loading...