1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root AOKP on Kurio 7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oscarsama, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. oscarsama

    oscarsama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    185
    89
    53
    Male
    Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, M
    Hi I hope this helps someone out there.

    I bought this tablet hoping it would keep my 3 year old boy happy only to find like many that the device sucks.

    So after rooting it and look for roms everywhere with no avail I leave it like that.

    Yesterday I somehow brick it trying to do a factory reset and started again looking for a solution.

    I did find updated files (you can get them officially from the support page).

    But since I installed cwm recovery they did not worked.

    I looked again for a custom room but nothing out there, the thing is forsaken.

    The I tried to dig a little deeper, using the chipset which is a Allwinner A10, I looked for similar tablets running custom roms.

    And I did it.

    I found the motherload for this thing.

    I googled Allwinner A10 roms and I stumbled around links and pages until I reached this one.

    http://www.slatedroid.com/topic/57538-rom-aokp-jelly-bean-android-412-allwinner-a10/

    I gave it a try, since it was already bricked, but it worked, the thing is running jelly bean, everything I tried works, sensors, Wi-Fi, sound, camera, sound, except for the illuminated touch panel. But the on screen ones do work.

    As I'm writing this I'm restoring apps using TB and I'm downloading gapps from the same site.

    I'll post some screen shots after that.

    I won't put download links since it's not my work.

    But go ahead and find them, I did! :D

    So have fun and it hope it helps!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ufo8mymunky

    ufo8mymunky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    which compatibility pack did you use cause im totally lost there.
     
  3. ufo8mymunky

    ufo8mymunky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    ohh guess i should have kept reading first....lol
     
    oscarsama likes this.
  4. oscarsama

    oscarsama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    185
    89
    53
    Male
    Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, M
    None, just flashed the rom as is.

    Sadly my tablet died lol. It was unrelated to the rom, was a short circuit on the USB port...

    But it was working great!

    By the way... sorry for the long op :D
     
  5. ufo8mymunky

    ufo8mymunky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    So I tried flashing that and rom on the link and now my touch screen doesn't work...and then I just realized that it says its for jellybean...and the krapio is ics...I don't know if that matters or not but yeah it probably does....

    Is there a way to wipe the whole thing clean and start all over again. Obviously a factory reset is out of the question because I got CWM on it and flashed a bunch of roms that obviously not right....lol


    So is there something that I can to do it to get it back to factory settings like with ADB or LiveSuit? I don't really know a lot about this kinda stuff but if I had some directions I could figure it out.
     
  6. oscarsama

    oscarsama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    185
    89
    53
    Male
    Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, M
    Well I guess mine worked because I did a factory reset via cwm and by mistake I wiped system data and I erased the internal memory.

    Also sometimes the makers change the components but keep on giving the same Brand Name.

    That could be a reason.

    Now, about the stock rom I could not find one. Just the kurio updates. But they didn't worked for me because the kurio7 system was already gone.

    So maybe you get lucky!
     
  7. ufo8mymunky

    ufo8mymunky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    The stock ROMs on the website didn't work for me before I had CWM. I did a live chat with some dumb lady and she tried to get me to install updated firmware with a bunch of kurio .apks. I told the lady a million times during the chat that I cant update system apps or install any apps because some how after I did the allwinner google play install and root I downloaded ROM Toolbox and tried to overclock it (I think that is what it is called) and it rebooted me and made my internal memory stuck at 54mb. Everything in /system/app/ totals to 54mb so I can't even update or download anything. I tried some thing I found on YouTube about making Google Play install apps directly to SDCard with ADB but obviously it doesn't work for root apps. So I also tried to delete .apks in system/app/ with ADB and it won't let me. I tried the regular way and the su way. So after all of that I was like f it....I did CWM and that worked great. NOw I'm just having problems finding a ROM that makes the touch screen work. I did notice that when one of the ROMS were flashing it sad something about "cant find emmc partition....I don't know what that does but oh well I guess. Maybe I'll just drop it in a sink full of dishwater and get it replaced.

    Actually I just looked up emmc partition and I guess it is for the internal storage card...

    IF I was to wipe everything from /system, /data, and whatever else it shows in CWM and then try to flash a ROM would that make things worse or do you think it would help. I have no idea what I'm talking about by the way. I just taught this all to myself via google in the last 24 hours.
     
  8. oscarsama

    oscarsama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    185
    89
    53
    Male
    Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, M
    Well it seems that its a partition problem, I don't know much either, but internal memory was unavailable, it was unmountable, but obviously there.

    AOKP and Cyanogenmod both have issues mounting internal SD card, but only Cyanogenmod worked it out.

    But in your case it seems that the sdcard was mounted but with a very small partition.

    So in THEORY formatting the partitions which can be done on cwm could solve it.

    But make sure your external SD card is out! Or it would be erased again.

    Kurio7 for some reason allocates something like 350 mb for apps, that was untouched for me, it was the rest of the internal 2 gb that I could not use.

    I was about to install Cyanogenmod before it died. So no idea if that could have solved the internal memory card issue.
     
    ufo8mymunky likes this.
  9. ufo8mymunky

    ufo8mymunky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    5
    1
    6
    Well...I give it a try I suppose. Can't really do anymore damage then what I have already done. It would be a lot easier if Androids could just be a little more like Windows and let me reformat the hard drive and do a fresh instal of my OS....
     
  10. oscarsama

    oscarsama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    185
    89
    53
    Male
    Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, M
    I did the same and it worked so... who knows?

    Good luck!
     
  11. rhino889a

    rhino889a Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,004
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012

    May 30, 2012
    1,004
    177
    143
    Male
    Bum
    Somewhere in the Internet
    will this install with stock recovery. i am bricked on stock, recovery wont let me flash the same or older firmware from kurio site.
    cant get adb to install cwm.
     
  12. oscarsama

    oscarsama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    185
    89
    53
    Male
    Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas, M
    I don't know for sure, I won't lie to you, I had cwm before the brick so I was able to flash AOKP, I'm pretty sure it's not possible to install custom roms without cwm in this case
     
  13. ant3251

    ant3251 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014

    Jul 11, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    How did u root it I can't figure out a way also how do u unlock it so I can use as a phone and tablet
     
  14. vito

    vito Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    2
    1
    6
    Male
    Muy bueno,a mi me funciono pero la fastidie a la hora de instalar cwm.Ahora no pasa del logo kurio series y no puedo entrar en recovery.Alguna idea?
     
  15. LuisOlvera89

    LuisOlvera89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Yo te guio para que hagas funcionar tu tablet amigo.

    Mandame un mensaje a

    www.facebook.com/luisbutchh
     

Share This Page

Loading...