1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

AOSP, Mistakes and Problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by davekaye, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. davekaye

    davekaye Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    42
    4
    16
    Retired
    Palo Alto, CA
    First my mistakes. Coming from the computer world to the smartphone world, I loaded the AOSP ROM first, then rebooted & checked for problems. It rebooted fine and I tested it for a while. So then I loaded the GAPPS zip rebooted and that worked. But only for a short time and I lost sync ability. It took me a day of testing to realize that the ROM and the GAPPS have to be loaded before any reboots and tests. My mistake -- not sure if others have this problem. When loaded at the same time, all is well with sync.
    Secondly - I still have the following problems and seek assistance.

    1. SMS msgs. I can send, but can't receive. People get my msgs, respond and it never shows up. I'm using the vanilla version, but it was the same with Handcent.
    2. The following apps give me a force close. I still have another 40 apps that all work. Why these apps? Do they work for others. I have uninstalled them and re-installed & still I get force close.

    • Yelp
    • Flikster (movies)
    • Cardar lite
    • Find Starbucks (various Starbucks apps)
    • ShopSavy
    Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. AOSP lets me keep my Hero for another year. Speed is impressive.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I will assume you are on the 9.9.1 version, if yes, then clear your Cache and Davlik, then open ROM manger and click on fix permission, and report back



     
  3. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    is 0.9.9.1 better than 0.9.7?
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Has a few bugs repairs, bluetooth bootloops, and boot screen animations, etc...


    Code (Text):
    1. Bootloop fixes 9.9.1 , Weatherbug fixed updated android code new stable Kernel
    2. with new Gapps package in the first post and stock 0.9.9 I am using MTD 67 2 with Firerat Mod

     
  5. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    is it worth having to set everything up again? is it faster, better, or in any way worth the time?
     
  6. Kevets

    Kevets Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    Michigan
    Not if you're happy with what you have. Some people had weird Bluetooth issues which 9.9.1 fixed.
     
  7. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Im on .9.9 - A bit leaner then .9.8....You will have to download a few extra things -
    You don't HAVE to wipe and then set it back up again. Some have had success flashing .8 over .9 - no framework changes.

    Even with the wipe - between TB and google backup - most everything will restore (going from same ROM build)

    Dave - on the SMS - Flash back to a sense based rom - your messages will load. Nandroid back to AOSP and you should be in biz.

    +1 on the fix permissions....to solve FC's

    Are you Running AOSP Mod or CM-Vanilla?
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Yes and if you have Google apps set up then it will also install your apps, setting the phone up is a breeze, all you have to do is set up your screens again, but here is what I would try if I were you, do a fresh Nandroid back up, then make sure 9.9.1 is on your SD card, then flash into recovery, then wipe Cache, and Davlik and flash 9.9.1 over your present ROM, and you will not have to set anything up, if you do not have any issues then you are good to go, if you do then you will have to do a full wipe, flash Rom and Gapps again and let Google install your apps,then simply proceed with setting your screen up.


     
  9. johnny124

    johnny124 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    146
    24
    38
    Male
    Corporate Pilot
    Chicago Area
    I am having problems getting voicemails. I just get a text then I have to call my voicemail to get it. Also, my email doesn't update unless I refresh everytime even though the setting are set to update every hour. Other than that I am loving aosp.
     
  10. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Try .9.9 - you may be very pleasantly Surprised......
    Autosync is your answer on on your e-mails...
     
  11. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    why is there not google talk on this rom? i've tried pushing it to no luck. won't install. what the heck?
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try flashing Tiny gapps


     
  13. davekaye

    davekaye Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    42
    4
    16
    Retired
    Palo Alto, CA
    I am on 9.9.1. Did all of this and no change. Also Places stopped working. But Google Shopper works, and a complex app like Slingbox lets me watch my TV. Facebook works and I can access the web through Google or Opera. Why would Google Shopper work but not Shop Savy? Any other ideas?
     
  14. davekaye

    davekaye Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    42
    4
    16
    Retired
    Palo Alto, CA
    I'm running AOSP 9.9.1. Which Sense based rom would you recommend. I hope I don't have to go back to the Sprint Rom? By the way, fix permissions didn't help. Amazing how this stuff works for one user and not another.
     
  15. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Okay, that is a new term for me. What is Tiny GApps?

    I thought the GApps one flashed were pretty much universal. Are there variations?
     
  16. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    JIT is disabled in 0.9.9.1
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Sounds like you may have had a bad flash I would wipe everything, data, Davlik cache and cache. Then reflash the rom and gapps;)
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    That was the first file I flashed when I first used AOSP, I think it has a few more Google apps, the new MDPI is a little lighter and that maybe by design I am not sure. I simply read somewhere that someone was missing talk and he flashed Gapps Tiny and it was back, but as Andy mentioned it also could of been a bad flash. Here is a quote from the CM forum below :cool:


     
  19. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    For the most, yes they are universal but aosp has been putting out his own variation of the gapps. Some for 0.9.9.1 and others are for gingerbread. For the most part, tiny gapps will be sufficient because applications like gmail, car home, voice search, google maps.... can be found in the market now. As long as the gapps has the android market, you should be able to download anything. So, if you flash the tiny gapps, you will be able to download whatever you want;)
     
    LBPHeretic likes this.
  20. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Okay, that makes a lot of sense. One question though, if I download the Google Apps that include everything, will they still be able to get updates?

    Some things you can download updates in the market, and others are OTA, like the recent Android Market app update. Would that still happen if I flash the full Google Apps?
     
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Yes you can and yes you will get updates ;)


     
  22. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    on the text....just nandroid back to stock...let your texts all come in and Nandroid back to AOSP.....after that....they should come back in.
    Or wipe reinstall and reflash.
     
  23. davekaye

    davekaye Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    42
    4
    16
    Retired
    Palo Alto, CA
    I was running AOSP but now have moved over to CM6. More of my apps seem to work without force closes. And you were correct - I flashed a Sense ROM (Fresh) and all my SMS msgs came. I then nandroided back to CM6 and the SMS messages, now work. Thank you.
     
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    On your AOSP, you could of fix permissions in RM, and also wiped Cache and Davlik and see if that would have solved your issue of FC


     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...