1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root AOSP ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xmetalfan99, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager
    I decided that I want to give AOSP roms another try. I have ben looking at the CM7 unofficial, but can't get the md5 checksum file to load. What is the md5sum for the latest CM7? Also, another option was liquid smooth but all of the files have been removed from rootzwiki and I can't find them on their website. I do have the older files from around dec 15th. What are the steps for flashing mods and fixes? Do I just clear davlik and then flash the file?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
  3. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    63
    3
    16
    I agree... After a few personalized touches, this rom runs better than any I've tried so far. It's snappier, more intuitive and looks a lot nicer.

    Aosp roms I've experienced have weird issues associating contacts with Facebook, so I used SyncMyPix... Problem solved.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  4. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    scotty85 likes this.
  5. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager
  6. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    If you use windows, download WinMD5 from the link below.

    WinMD5 Free - Windows MD5 Utility Freeware
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  7. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager
    I already have a checker. When you click on the link for the md5sum in the OP, I have to dl another file. I don't know how to get the md5sum contained in that file to compare it to what the md5sum of the rom dl file is.
     
  8. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    The file that is downloaded can be opened with notepad, the MD5 output of V1.1 is b781e6e22c41e3f39ad10042e4715aa0
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  9. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager

    Awesome, thank you for the info.

    BTW, any issues with the gps functionality?
     
  10. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    No, I haven't had GPS problems in a while on AOSP. But some have. There is a fix for this by flashing a backup of a sense ROM, going to maps and get a solid GPS lock and then flash your backup of the AOSP ROM and open up maps and get a lock. Sounds crazy but it does work.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  11. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager
    I just flashed Thunderbred and after changing the settings, I love the rom. I just wish my data counter widget still worked. Besides that, I like it. Also, what does the triangle in the status bar mean?
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    workshed did some mighty fine eris roms,and ive been meaning to try his TB rom as well. i can also vouge for liquid 3.2,it is a great running and visually apealing rom. the ICS theme is close to what real ICS looks like. i enjoy slayhers cm7 as well. it makes me sad he prolly wont be on board for TB cm9 :(

    as far as gps goes,if it works where you are,it should work on your next rom. just make sure you get a good gps lock before flashing the rom,and you should be fine. i dont have any prollems with functionality following me from AOSP rom to AOSP rom.

    i like to get a lock using an app called "gps status". download a-gps assistance data,and let it find at least 7 or 8 satelites... the more it finds,the better :) then flash flash your rom.

    others let "maps" get a good solid lock,accurate to 3 meters and report that that works also.
     
  13. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager
    Well, I really want to like this ROM, but I am having issues with data. I awoke this morning getting no data. I switched back to the backup I made of my previous rom and I was getting data with that one. Any suggestions?
     
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    data worked great for me... every now and then if i did have trouble,toggling 3g/4g or toggling airplane mode usually make it come back,as did just waiting a couple minutes. i never had it leave for very long.
     
  15. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    85
    5
    36
    PetStore manager
    I was also told to try this;


    After wiping data, cache, and dalvik.
    Go to mounts and then mount system, then format system as well. It'll wipe out any remaining bits of the prior rom. This may pacify any problems you are having if you do this.

    I will try this and reflash the rom. If it continues I will try the airplane mode toggle.
     
  16. mdparent03

    mdparent03 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    CALI
    I tried Thundershed for a couple of weeks when I found out he was working with the Thunderbolt because I enjoyed his work on the Eris when I had that. It worked really well for the most part. The 3G/4G toggle problem was there and I just would reboot and be fine. I switched back to Liquid Gingerbread 3.2 which seems a bit smoother and like has already been said, looks like the up-coming ICS. Prior to that, was using OMGB 1.2 or OMFGB which is really, really pure vanilla gingerbread. Not enough tweeks and also seems not updated any longer. So until ICS from someone has data, I am sticking with Liquid. Here is screen shot of my T-Bolt with Liquid 3.2

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17651910/screenshot-1327346029382.png
     

Share This Page

Loading...