1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Aplication for wifi 3G

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by kneipp, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. kneipp

    kneipp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    good night everyone.

    Im trying to find an application thats enable / disable / only use my 3G or Wifi on my motorola milestone.

    Anyone got the app name>

    Thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Do you want an application to simply switch between 3G and WiFi? Are you always in 3G coverage, because if not, then there is no application to make the phone work in 3G.

    I will move this to the Applications forum.
     
  3. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,251
    458
    163
    Male
    Waterfoot, Lancashire
    There's a switch for wifi built in, and several apps in the market to switch the APN (3G access) on and off - I use APN OnOff (first one I tried!) but there are lots of others that I'm sure work just as well.
     
  4. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    APNdroid works good, especially for me since my carrier has no 2G (shocking isn't it!?), all APNdroid does is adds "apnandroid" at the end of the APN address and removes it when you turn it back on. I use this alongside 3G Watchdog, when I reach a specific % of the monthly cap it runs APNdroid to prevent any further data usage.

    As for wifi, Android should automatically switch itself to wifi when it's being used even if your phone shows "3G" in the status bar, so check the network section to ensure that's enabled.
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    ^This. You can use the Power Control Widget (included with Android) to toggle WiFi.
     

Share This Page

Loading...